Steve Smith & Co. responds to the question whether ‘Mankad’ rule is ok or not

Posted On / /
Steve Smith & Co. responds to the question whether ‘Mankad’ rule is ok or not
Steve Smith (Image Source: Twitter)

The Proteas’ middle-order batter Sune Luus who exhibited all-round performance (61 runs and 3 wickets) in the 11th match of the ongoing Women’s T20 World Cup played between South Africa and Thailand on Friday, was recently involved in a ‘Mankad’ attempt during a group stage match of the elite competition against England.

England’s medium-pacer Katherine Brunt tried to pursue ‘Mankading’ against Luus, however, she didn’t go further and left the batter with a warning.

Not long ago, Afghanistan spinner Noor Ahmed and Pakistan opener Mohammad Huraira too got entailed in the same fashion in the U-19 World Cup, where the former dismissed the latter, which stirred a lot of debate.

After the incident, England’s frontline bowler James Anderson had requested the International Cricket Council (ICC) to get rid of the ‘Mankad’ rule.

Now, Australian cricketers have dropped their opinions on the controversial rule.

In a video uploaded by on Twitter, the Aussie cricketers were asked whether ‘Mankads’ are okay?.

Some players answered that the rule is fair enough, while some opined this rule doesn’t make sense at all. Few also said that the rule is okay as long as a batsman has been warned.

Leg-spinner Adam Zampa said ‘Mankads are okay’ whereas speedster Mitchell Starc clearly opted for a ‘No’. All-rounder Mitchell Marsh and Nathan Coulter-Nile agreed with Starc, while pacer Pat Cummins answered in a ‘Yes’.

“I used to be a no, but I’m starting to come around to a yes,” said Cummins.

Veteran paceman Peter Siddle went for a ‘Yes’, whereas the batting trio of Peter Handscomb, Shaun Marsh, and Alex Carey chose to say ‘No’.

Fast bowler James Pattinson did say ‘No’, but the reason that he came up with was funny.

“Too hard, as a fast bowler, you’ve got to stop too quickly,” said Pattinson.

Former skipper Steve Smith and power-hitter Glenn Maxwell said the rule isn’t okay, whereas Kane Richardson said it’s fine.

“If they’re on 120 and there’s no other way of getting them out, take them, I reckon,” said Richardson.

Wicket-keeper Matthew Wade said, “Yes, but not out the first time, second time-out.”

Second highest wicket-taker for Australia with a red ball in 2019, Nathan Lyon found nothing wrong in ‘Mankad’ and said, “I’m leaning towards yes.”

Australia Test skipper Tim Paine was of the opinion that those who do it (Mankad) get in trouble for going against the spirit, but it’s in the rules, so it’s fair.

“Leg before is the same, isn’t it? Run out, caught. People do it but get in trouble for going against the spirit of cricket, but it’s in the rules,” said Paine.

TAGS: , , ,

CATEGORY: Australia, News, Steve Smith

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Akshat is just another cricket fan who’s grown up watching the likes of Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid. Cricket runs in his veins. Cover drive is his favorite sight, and a ball meeting the middle of the bat is his favorite sound. You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.