Sydney Sixers beat Melbourne Stars to win Big Bash League (BBL) title

Posted On / /
Sydney Sixers beat Melbourne Stars to win Big Bash League (BBL) title
Sydney Sixers. (Pic Source: Twitter)

Spirited Sydney Sixers defeated Melbourne Stars in the Big Bash League (BBL) final on Saturday to lift the season nine trophy at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG).

The match was off to a delayed start due to persistent rain in Sydney. It was finally decided it would be a 12-overs-a-side contest, and the Stars won the bat flip and opted to bowl first.

Opener Josh Philippe scored 52 while Steve Smith made 21 to get them going. Jordan Silk’s 27 off 15 balls down the order then helped the Sixers post a total of 116-5.

Among bowlers, Nathan Lyon and Steve O’Keefe picked up two wickets each, but Josh Hazlewood’s spell hurt the Stars the most. In his quota of three overs, Hazlewood gave just 18 runs and took the wicket of opener Nic Maddinson. Among Lyon’s wickets were Marcus Stoinis and Ben Dunk while O’Keefe dismissed Stars captain Glenn Maxwell and wicketkeeper Seb Gotch.

The Stars were in the end restricted to 97/6, thus handing the Sixers a 19-run win.

Brief scores: Sydney Sixers 116/5 in 12 overs (Josh Philippe 52, Jordan Silk 27; Glenn Maxwell 2/17) vs Melbourne Stars 97/6 in 12 overs (Nick Larkin 38, Nathan Coulter-Nile 19; Nathan Lyon 2/19).

TAGS: , , ,

CATEGORY: Australia, BBL, News, Sydney Sixers, T20

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.