West Indies announce 14-man squad for Sri Lanka T20Is; Andre Russell recalled

Posted On / /
West Indies announce 14-man squad for Sri Lanka T20Is; Andre Russell recalled
Dwayne Bravo, Andre Russell. (Pic Source: ICC)

Andre Russell has been recalled to West Indies’ T20 International squad to face Sri Lanka in the upcoming two-match series.

Allrounder Russell hasn’t played for the Caribbean side since pulling up short midway through the 50-over World Cup in June 2019. However, he has taken part in other T20 leagues, most notably in the recently concluded Bangladesh Premier League (BPL).

Fast bowler Oshane Thomas, who turned 23 earlier this week, was selected after his full recovery from a car accident in Jamaica recently. Additionally, wicket-keeper-batsman Shai Hope has been included alongside left-arm spinner Fabian Allen.

Also, left-handed batsman Shimron Hetmyer completed a fitness assessment earlier in the week and successfully reached the minimum required standard for selection.

Commenting on the squad, CWI lead selector Roger Harper said: “Shimron Hetmyer missed out on selection for the ODI squad. He has since attained the required fitness level, becoming available for selection, and has been included.

“Andre Russell is back in the squad, having been cleared by the medical panel and successfully completing CWI’s return-to-play protocol. Andre will add potency to every department of the team. Oshane Thomas appears to be focused and raring to go. He will add pace and penetration to the bowling unit.”

Harper added: “Shai Hope provides an opening option and cover as a back-up wicket-keeper also. Fabian Allen returns from the injury he sustained in the series against Afghanistan late last year. He will provide a spin bowling option as well as adding depth to the batting group.”

The two T20Is will be played at the Pallakele International Cricket Stadium in Kandy on March 4 and March 6.

West Indies and Sri Lanka are currently competing in a three-match ODI series. Sri Lanka won the first match by one wicket in Colombo on Saturday (February 22).

The second ODI will be played in Hambantota on Wednesday.

West Indies T20I squad:

Kieron Pollard (c), Fabian Allen, Dwayne Bravo, Sheldon Cottrell, Shimron Hetmyer, Shai Hope, Brandon King, Nicholas Pooran, Rovman Powell, Andre Russell, Lendl Simmons, Oshane Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr, Kesrick Williams

TAGS: , , , , ,

CATEGORY: Andre Russell, News, T20, West Indies

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at anirudh@crickettimes.com or anirudhsingh2904@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.