5 players who won the IPL title with both Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians

Posted On / /

Amid Covid-19 pandemic, the 13th edition of Indian Premier League has been suspended till mid-April by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). The sources from the apex board gave a hint that the IPL 2020 can be organized in July. However, there hasn’t been any confirmation by BCCI.

Fans are hopeful that IPL 2020 will take place once the situation around the globe gets normal.
The IPL is regarded as the best tournament of the cricketing world. The lucrative league has given so many Indian as well as international players who are now representing their respective nations.

When it comes to overall performances, Mumbai Indians (MI) and Chennai Super Kings (CSK) are the two teams that have dominated the cash-rich league. MI, led by Rohit Sharma, is the most successful team in the tournament having won as many as four championship titles. Behind them are last year’s runners-up, CSK, led by former India captain MS Dhoni. They have won three IPL trophies.

The success rate of both the teams is excellent, and that’s the biggest reason every cricketer wants to be a part of these two franchises. Those who have been a part of either the teams have witnessed the taste of winning the competition.

But few lucky players have played for both the teams in twelve seasons and have also won the IPL with them.

5.) Karn Sharma (2 times)

Spinner Karn Sharma accomplished a pretty exceptional feat in IPL history as he won the title in three consecutive seasons, although with three different teams.

First, he tasted the championship with Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in 2016, and then in the next two years, Karn won the title with Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings. In the 13th season, the right-arm leg-spinner will play for CSK again.

4.) Tim Southee (2 times)

New Zealand’s veteran bowler, Tim Southee, is one of those rare players who won the first IPL championship in the debut season. In 2011, Chennai Super Kings bought the Kiwi pacer. Southee’s performances were not disappointing in that edition; still, CSK released him next year. Team Yellow won the 2011 season.

Southee then joined Mumbai Indians in 2016 and guess what, the next year, vice-captain of New Zealand won his second IPL championship.

3.) Parthiv Patel (3 times)

Another player in the list who first won a title with Chennai Super Kings and then accomplished a similar feat with Mumbai Indians in his IPL career is none other than the wicket-keeper batsman, Parthiv Patel.

In fact, the left-handed opener has played for many franchises in his IPL career, and he has also won 3 championships. The Ahmedabad-based cricketer started his career with CSK and was a part of the winning squad in 2010.

Then, Patel had a significant run in Mumbai Indians’ title wins as he scored 339 and 395 runs in IPL 2015 and 2017, respectively. Former Team India member also took 13 catches and performed five stumpings during the two seasons.

2.) Harbhajan Singh (4 times)

Veteran off-spinner Harbhajan Singh won three championships with Mumbai Indians. He played a major role in the team and performed like a valuable asset for the Mumbai-based franchise. For MI in 2013, ‘Bhajji’ picked 24 wickets in 19 matches.

Harbhajan’s fourth title win came when he joined the Chennai Super Kings team in IPL 2018. However, the Punjab cricketer had an average season as he could only bag seven wickets in 13 games at a weak economy of 8-plus.

1.) Ambati Rayudu (4 times)

Just like Harbhajan Singh, Ambati Rayudu is a 4-time IPL winner. Few people know that he also featured in Indian Cricket League (ICL) before Mumbai Indians signed him in IPL 2010.

The Hyderabad batsman stayed with the Mumbai-based franchise for eight long years. No wonder he won three titles with them.

Then he joined the MS Dhoni-led CSK and played a significant role in his team’s journey to the title in 2018. Rayudu accumulated 602 runs in 16 matches for his side and even registered his first IPL hundred that year.

TAGS: , , ,

CATEGORY: Chennai Super Kings, India, IPL, Mumbai Indians, News

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Akshat is just another cricket fan who’s grown up watching the likes of Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid. Cricket runs in his veins. Cover drive is his favorite sight, and a ball meeting the middle of the bat is his favorite sound. You can write to him at akshat.gaur@crickettimes.com or aks333.in@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.