Aakash Chopra picks 6 greatest captains in Indian cricket history

Posted On / /

The deadly Covid-19 has put the entire world under lockdown, and the major population has been forced to spend time at homes so that the spread of Coronavirus can be stopped. Meanwhile, many public figures, including cricketers, are also following the self-isolation process and inspiring their fans to do the same.

The dangerous disease has terminated many cricket series and tournaments, which has compelled fans to watch old series and matches in order to freshen up the memories. Recently, Cricket Australia telecasted an old game played at Adelaide Oval against New Zealand in 1997.

The standstill has given fans a chance to recall the old moments. Meanwhile, cricketers from all around the world are also heading towards social media to interact with their fans via Question-Answer sessions.

Former Indian opener Aakash Chopra also relived the old moments via his official Youtube channel when he came up with the top 6 captains in Indian cricket history.

At No. 6, Chopra picked the legendary Ajit Wadekar. The latter had inspired India to a famous win over England and West Indies in 1971. The Government of India honoured Wadekar with the Arjuna Award (1967) and Padma Shri (1972), India’s fourth-highest civilian honour.

Wadekar also represented Team India in its first-ever One Day International (ODI) game during the tour of England in 1974.

“Under Ajit Wadekar, we won for the first time in the West Indies and England- both in 1971. He may have captained in only 18 matches, in which we didn’t win a lot of Test matches, but then we are talking of the 1970s here. Under Wadekar, India started winning, and the seeds of them becoming a superpower were laid under his leadership,” Chopra said as quoted by TN.

At No. 5, Chopra chose India’s greatest batsman and an excellent captain Rahul Dravid. The Bangalore cricketer was known for putting himself in the line of fire whenever the team needed someone to step up.

Be it wicket-keeping, opening the batting in tricky conditions, or backing his players, Dravid was undoubtedly a true inspiration for the Indian team. Dravid holds a unique record of never getting out for a Golden duck in the 286 Test innings, which he has played.

“He also didn’t captain for a long time; he actually relinquished the leadership [post winning the Test series in England in 2007]. He saw a few highs but he also saw a very bad low which was the 2007 World Cup in West Indies where the team was knocked out in th3 first round. But then, under his leadership, we went on to beat England in England, a place where we haven’t managed to win post that. His win percentage is also outstanding,” said Chopra.

The current captain of Team India in across formats, Virat Kohli, was chosen for the No. 4 spot by Chopra. Under Kohli’s leadership, the Indian team has done wonders. For the past three years, they have remained No. 1 in Test rankings and have also registered historic accomplishments on their overseas tours.

“He has a good team; he is steadily becoming a better captain. He may not have won an ICC trophy but under his leadership, but from the past three years the team has been at the numero-uno spot in the Test rankings. He will also play the final of Test championship and may possibly also win it. As far as ICC events are concerned, the team has always made its way to the semis or even the finals,” Chopra opined about Kohli’s leadership.

The 3rd place in Chopra’s list went to current BCCI president Sourav Ganguly. Chopra hailed the former captain for bringing a swift change in Indian cricket, especially after the 2000 match-fixing scandal.

Chopra heaped praises for Ganguly for finding unbelievable talents like Zaheer Khan, Yuvraj Singh, Virender Sehwag, Harbhajan Singh, and giving them an opportunity into the side.

For the number two spot, Chopra picked arguably the most exceptional skipper in the history of Indian cricket, Kapil Dev. Chopra opined that the 1983 world cup victory changed the image of Indian cricket globally. He said it was the most significant moment in Indian cricket, including Kapil’s blistering knock of 175 vs Zimbabwe.

No need to guess that Chopra picked Mahendra Singh Dhoni as the No. 1 captain in his list of most celebrated leaders of Indian cricket. Under Dhoni’s leadership, India won the 2007 World T20 title, the 2011 World Cup, and the 2013 ICC Champions Trophy.

The Indian Territorial Army conferred the honorary rank of Lieutenant Colonel to Dhoni on November 1, 2011. Dhoni is the second Indian cricketer after Kapil Dev to receive this honour.

After taking up the Test captaincy in 2008, MSD led the team to series wins in New Zealand and the West Indies, as well as the Border-Gavaskar Trophy in 2008, 2010 and 2013. In 2009, Dhoni also led the Indian team to number one position for the first time in the ICC Test rankings.

TAGS: , , ,

CATEGORY: Aakash Chopra, India, MS Dhoni, News, Rahul Dravid

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Akshat is just another cricket fan who’s grown up watching the likes of Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid. Cricket runs in his veins. Cover drive is his favorite sight, and a ball meeting the middle of the bat is his favorite sound. You can write to him at akshat.gaur@crickettimes.com or aks333.in@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.