South Africa announces 15-man ODI squad for India tour

Posted On / /
South Africa announces 15-man ODI squad for India tour
India vs South Africa ODI. (Image Source: Twitter)

Cricket South Africa (CSA) on Monday announced the squad for the upcoming three-match ODI against India, starting March 12.

Former skipper Faf du Plessis and Rassie van der Dussen, both of whom were not picked for the ongoing three-match ODI series against Australia, make their return to the 50-overs format. Left-arm spinner George Linde has received his maiden ODI call-up for India tour.

The first ODI between the two sides will be played in Dharamsala on March 12. The other two matches will be played in Lucknow and Kolkata on March 15 and 18, respectively.

Return of du Plessis and van der Dussen to the Proteas side will bolster their batting line-up. Wrist spinner Tabraiz Shamsi was withdrawn his name for India ODIs as he and his wife Khadija are anticipating the birth of their first child.

Another notable name missing from the squad is of fast bowler Kagiso Rabada who has been ruled out of the series due to a groin strain.

“It is exciting to see the amount of competition for spots that we have within the team, and in the franchises, it’s a good headache for us as selectors to have. We are satisfied with our picks for what will certainly be a challenging tour of India. We saw some promising performances last year from the T20 squad that traveled there, and we wanted to give a player like George Linde another crack at the conditions which seemed to really suit him.

“We are also particularly pleased with the balance of youth and experience that we have achieved while our young leadership group continues to establish itself. We are looking forward to some good performances in this relatively short tour,” the Proteas selector Linda Zondi said.

South Africa ODI squad for India ODIs:

Quinton de Kock (c & wk), Temba Bavuma, Rassie van der Dussen, Faf du Plessis, Kyle Verreynne, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Jon-Jon Smuts, Andile Phehlukwayo, Lungi Ngidi, Lutho Sipamla, Beuran Hendricks, Anrich Nortje, George Linde, Keshav Maharaj.

TAGS: , , , , ,


For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.