Wasim Jaffer picks his all-time IPL XI, names MS Dhoni as captain

Posted On / /
Wasim Jaffer picks his all-time IPL XI, names MS Dhoni as captain
Wasim Jaffer, MS Dhoni (Image Source: Twitter/BCCI)

The 13th season of Indian Premier League (IPL) was supposed to kick off on March 29, but due to coronavirus pandemic, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) suspended the 2020 season till mid-April. Now, it has been reported that IPL 2020 is set to be cancelled as the Covid-19 spread is increasing day by day.

Meanwhile, former India opener Wasim Jaffer has revealed his all-time IPL XI , and he picked former India skipper and currently the captain of Chennai Super Kings (CSK), MS Dhoni, to lead his side.

Taking to Twitter, Jaffer posted his 12-member team.

Jaffer picked West Indies’ giants – Chris Gayle and Andre Russell, Afghanistan’s Rashid Khan, and Sri Lankan veteran Lasith Malinga as the four foreign players in his team.

For the openers, Jaffer chose Mumbai Indians (MI) skipper Rohit Sharma and Kings XI Punjab’s Gayle, and for the number three position, he picked one of the best T20 players of the lucrative league, Suresh Raina.

In Jaffer’s IPL XI, Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) captain Virat Kohli walks out at number 4, followed by Dhoni who will also keep the wickets and Kolkata Knight Rider (KKR)’s power-striker, Russell. To add strength to the lower middle-order, Jaffer went with all-rounders Hardik Pandya of MI and Rashid Khan of Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH).

Among bowlers, the 42-year-old picked new member of Delhi Capitals (DC) Ravichandran Ashwin as the specialist spinner while MI’s Jasprit Bumrah and Lasith Malinga as the pacers.

For the 12th man, Jaffer went for CSK’s star all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja.

Here is Jaffer’s all-time IPL XI:

Chris Gayle, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Virat Kohli, MS Dhoni (c and wk), Andre Russell, Hardik Pandya, Rashid Khan, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Lasith Malinga, Ravindra Jadeja (12th man).

TAGS: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

CATEGORY: IPL, MS Dhoni, News, T20

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Akshat is just another cricket fan who’s grown up watching the likes of Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid. Cricket runs in his veins. Cover drive is his favorite sight, and a ball meeting the middle of the bat is his favorite sound. You can write to him at akshat.gaur@crickettimes.com or aks333.in@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.