WATCH: New Zealand makes two DRS blunders during Australia innings in Sydney ODI

Posted On / /
WATCH: New Zealand makes two DRS blunders during Australia innings in Sydney ODI
Aaron Finch (Screen grab:

Former Indian captain MS Dhoni was known for the proper utilization of the Decision Review System (DRS) technique in cricket. However, unlike him, current skipper Virat Kohli is widely mocked for his poor use of the DRS method.

For those who aren’t aware, DRS is a technology-based system used in cricket to assist the match officials with their decision-making. On-field umpires may choose to consult with the third umpire, and players may request the third umpire to review the on-field umpires’ decision.

Just like Kohli, New Zealand captain Kane Williamson also had a weak history with respect to DRS choices, and he showed it again in the ongoing One-Day International (ODI) game against Australia in Sydney.

During their opening contest of the three-match series, the BlackCaps wasted two opportunities to send Australian captain Aaron Finch back to the pavilion. Finch went on to score 60 runs and added a crucial 124-run stand with David Warner (67). However, the situation could’ve been different had New Zealand reviewed not one but two decisions.

In both cases, Finch was clearly out, but Kiwi skipper Williamson strangely decided not to use the DRS. The first instance took place in the 3rd over of Australia innings when Trent Boult bowled a bouncer to which Finch tried a pull shot, but in an attempt of doing so, it carried a top edge which went straight into the hands of wicket-keeper Tom Latham.

There were appeals made; however, it was turned down by the on-field umpire. Williamson didn’t challenge the decision, but during the replay, it showed a big spike on ‘UltraEdge’ when the ball went past the bat.

As if this wasn’t enough, Finch was given another lifeline as during the 13th over the right-handed batsman was struck on pads by spinner Mitchell Santner. The left-armer, along with his teammates, appealed but the umpire stayed unmoved.

Williamson and Santner did have a chat, and the Kiwi leader decided not to review the decision. Yet again, the replay showed that Finch was a goner. During the rerun, it showed that the delivery hit the pad first. The ball tracking then showed three reds as it was going to hit the leg-stump. Finch was on 23 at that moment.

TAGS: , , , , , ,

CATEGORY: Aaron Finch, Australia, New Zealand, News, ODI, Video

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Akshat is just another cricket fan who’s grown up watching the likes of Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid. Cricket runs in his veins. Cover drive is his favorite sight, and a ball meeting the middle of the bat is his favorite sound. You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.