5 batsmen with most dismissals at single-digit scores in T20Is

Posted On / /
5 batsmen with most dismissals at single-digit scores in T20Is

The shortest format in the game of cricket, i.e. T20 was first introduced in England back in 2003 with the inter-county competition. After the success, the first Men’s T20 international was held between Australia and New Zealand on February 17, 2005, at Eden Park in Auckland. Since then, world cricket has witnessed numerous T20Is.

Undoubtedly the shortest format has changed the dynamics of cricket. It has given birth to quite a few domestic T20 tournaments such as Indian Premier League (IPL) and Big Bash League (BPL). These kinds of competitions have not only given the window to players from around the world to sharpen up their skills but also entertained fans across the world who could see their favourites playing in the same team.

Over the years, the shortest format has seen some of the most exceptional batsmen amassing a mountain of runs by taking the bowlers to the cleaners. The likes of Chris Gayle, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers are few who have completely dominated the T20 format. However, there have been few batsmen who have gone out pretty early. Some batsmen have not been able to cross the double-digit in T20Is for several times in their career.

Let’s have a look at five batsmen who were dismissed the maximum number of times in single-digits (batting in top-5 positions):

5.) William Porterfield – 25

William Porterfield, a left-handed top-order batsman and outstanding fielder in the cordon debuted in 2008 during a T20I game against Scotland. Since then, the Irish batsman has played 61 T20Is and scored 1079 runs with a strike-rate of 111.

The 35-year-old who is also a member of prestigious Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) has been dismissed without reaching the double-figure for 25 times in the shortest format of the game which is the fifth most in the history of T20 internationals.

4.) Ross Taylor, David Warner – 27

Two of the most breath-taking batsmen in the present era, Ross Taylor and David Warner, need no introduction as to what kind of potential they have. Being the neighbours, both Kiwi and Aussie players, have been a valuable asset for their respective teams.

Taylor has so far played 100 T20I games and scored 1909 runs, while Warner has appeared in 79 T20Is and accumulated 2207 runs. When it comes to getting out on single-digit scores, then both Taylor and Warner have been out for 27 times without touching the double-figure mark.

3.) Tillakaratne Dilshan – 28

When Tillakaratne Dilshan invented the ‘Dil Scoop’ it literally changed the concept of run-scoring technique. The shot is so complicated and unique that most of the batters have not even tried playing in their careers.
For those who aren’t aware, a ‘Dil Scoop’ is a stroke where a batsman goes on to one knee against a good length or slightly short of length delivery off a fast or medium-paced bowler and hits the ball over the head of the wicketkeeper.

In 80 T20Is, Dilshan has amassed 1889 runs with 13 fifties and one hundred. For 28 times in the shortest format, Dilshan wasn’t able to reach the double-digit.

2.) Kevin O’Brien – 30

Another Irish batsman in the list is none other than Kevin O’Brien. The talented batter has accumulated 1672 runs in 96 T20 internationals. He has also smashed three half-centuries and one hundred in the shortest format.

On 30 occasions, the Dublin-born has reached only a single-digit in his career.

1.) Rohit Sharma – 34

The topper of the list is India’s Rohit Sharma who is regarded as one of the finest limited-overs batsmen of modern-day cricket. The ‘Hitman’ who recently celebrated his 33rd birthday is the second-highest run-scorer in T20 internationals after his teammate Virat Kohli.

In 108 matches, Rohit has accumulated 2773 runs with 21 fifties and four centuries. the Mumbaikar also leads in the unwanted list of batsmen with most single-digit scores. Rohit has gone out without reaching the double-figures in T20Is for the record 34 times.

TAGS: , , , , , ,

CATEGORY: David Warner, News, Rohit Sharma, Ross Taylor, T20, Tillakaratne Dilshan

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Akshat is just another cricket fan who’s grown up watching the likes of Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid. Cricket runs in his veins. Cover drive is his favorite sight, and a ball meeting the middle of the bat is his favorite sound. You can write to him at akshat.gaur@crickettimes.com or aks333.in@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.