Gautam Gambhir picks the Indian bowling attack for upcoming T20 World Cup

Posted On / /
Gautam Gambhir. (Image Source: Twitter).

Former Indian opener, Gautam Gambhir, has made the call regarding the Indian bowling attack which will take part in the 2020 T20 World Cup in Australia.

Gambhir was part of the Indian squad during the successful 2007 T20 World Cup and 2011 ODI World Cup. The southpaw scored 75 and 97 in the finals of the above-mentioned tournaments, helping India secure the titles.

Now, Gambhir has chosen four specialist seamers, two wrist-spinners and an all-rounder who should fly down-under.

For the T20 WC, he picked India’s premier fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah, along with the apparent choice of Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Mohammed Shami. As the backup seamer, Gambhir went ahead with Navdeep Saini.

Interestingly, he had no place for Deepak Chahar who holds the best figures for an Indian in T20Is. Chahar picked 6/9 during his spell against Bangladesh, which also includes a hattrick.

Saini, who formerly had the backing of Gambhir for a place in the Delhi set-up, has been impressive in the limited opportunities provided to him, thus far.

For the spinning options, Gambhir went ahead with the hit wrist-spinning duo of Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal.

For the all-rounder role, the cricketer turned politician picked India’s marquee all-rounder, Hardik Pandya.

The other notable mentions to miss out of Gambhir’s chosen bowling attack are Rahul Chahal, Washington Sundar, Krunal Pandya and most interestingly, Ravindra Jadeja.

Supposedly, the conditions in Australia dictated Jadeja’s inclusion into Gambhir’s bowling attack. Other prominent seamers to miss out are Siddarth Kaul and Khaleel Ahmed, who have been in and around the T20I set up for a while now.

Also, there is no place for Test specialists Ravichandran Ashwin, Umesh Yadav and Ishant Sharma, who have done considerably in recent seasons of the Indian Premier League.

Gautam Gambhir’s bowling attack for India at 2020 T20 World:

Jasprit Bumrah, Navdeep Saini, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal.


CATEGORY: Gautam Gambhir, India, News

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Shubro is an ardent fan of sports, be it cricket, soccer, or tennis, he has an eye for all. Meticulous cricket writer by the day and an avid FIFA mobile player by the night, his life revolves around sports. The goal is to trott around the globe and to spread happiness through his goofy sense of humour. Write to him at