MS Dhoni to lead Aakash Chopra’s all-time Chennai Super Kings XI

Posted On / /
MS Dhoni to lead Aakash Chopra’s all-time Chennai Super Kings XI
Aakash Chopra and MS Dhoni. (Image Source: Twitter)

Former Indian cricketer turned commentator and broadcaster, Aakash Chopra, has picked his all-time XI of superhit franchise, Chennai Super Kings (XI).

The ‘Men in Yellow’ have developed a substantial fan-base, after featuring in the playoffs in each edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL).

The MS Dhoni-led side has three IPL titles to their name. They are the only side to have won consecutive seasons in IPL (won 2010, 2011, and 2018 edition).

One way or the other, CSK finds itself at the top half of the table through the entirety of the league stages.

A plethora of international as well as Indian stars donned the trademark yellow jersey of the Chepauk-based franchise.

Therefore, continuing the recent trend on social media, Chopra took the uphill task of choosing the all-time lineup of the side.

At the top, Chopra went ahead with CSK’s successful opening pair of Murali Vijay and Michael Hussey. Mr Cricket lit up the first edition of IPL by scoring the second ton in the history of IPL, backing up the pyrotechnics from Brendon McCullum, the following day in 2008.

Hussey and Vijay once batted Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) out of the game with their monumental partnership in the 2011 IPL final.

Then, Chopra made the obvious choice of Mr IPL, Suresh Raina, who is amongst the top scorers of the league, along with Virat Kohli.

Chopra made room for Shane Watson at number four, who played valiant knocks in the last two finals of the tournament.

The famous broadcaster named Thala Dhoni as the captain of the side, along with all-rounders Ravindra Jadeja, Albie Morkel and Dwayne Bravo, to complete the batting lineup.

As far as bowlers are concerned, Chopra slotted in Ravichandran Ashwin, Deepak Chahar and Ashish Nehra, who went on to represent the nation at the highest level, after impressive performances in the IPL.

Aakash Chopra’s all-time CSK XI:

Michael Hussey, Muraj Vijay, Suresh Raina, Shane Watson, MS Dhoni, Ravindra Jadeja, Albie Morkel, Dwayne Bravo, Ravichandran Ashwin, Deepak Chahar and Ashish Nehra

TAGS: , , ,

CATEGORY: Aakash Chopra, Chennai Super Kings, India, IPL, MS Dhoni, News

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Shubro is an ardent fan of sports, be it cricket, soccer, or tennis, he has an eye for all. Meticulous cricket writer by the day and an avid FIFA mobile player by the night, his life revolves around sports. The goal is to trott around the globe and to spread happiness through his goofy sense of humour. Write to him at