Aakash Chopra names Virat Kohli and KL Rahul as captain for India’s Test and T20I lineup on the same day

Posted On / /
Virat Kohli and KL Rahul. (Image Source: Twitter)

Cricketer turned broadcaster, Aakash Chopra, joined the bandwagon and has picked his lineup for in Tests and T20Is, which India shall field on the same day.

Keeping in mind the current pandemic scenario, the disruption caused in the cricketing calendar in 2020, might create ripples until next year.

As a result, there might be a possibility of teams playing both Test and T20I format at the same time, to condense the new cricketing schedule.

Eyeing the high-profile Indian tour of Australia later this year, Chopra, following the likes of Ajit Agarkar and MSK Prasad, made his call regarding the respective lineups for India.

In his lineups, he opted for both Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli in the Test team. At the same time, red-ball cricket specialists Cheteshwar Pujura, Ajinkya Rahane, and Hanuma Vihari form the core of Indian middle-order.

Despite impressive performances in the Sydney Test, Rishabh Pant makes room for Wriddhiman Saha. Chopra opted for Umesh Yadav ahead of Jasprit Bumrah for the pace attack, joining Mohammed Shami, and Ishant Sharma.

He went ahead with Bumrah in white-ball cricket, pairing him with Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Deepak Chahar.

When it comes to T20Is, in the absence of Rohit and Virat, KL Rahul was appointed as the captain of the team. Shikhar Dhawan would open the batting ahead of Prithvi Shaw, given his record against Australia in Australia.

Ravindra Jadeja dons the blues as the spinning all-rounder in blues, while Ravichandran Ashwin dons the whites in a similar role.

Here’s a look at both the lineups:

Aakash Chopra’s India Test XI:

Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Chesteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (c), Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Ravi Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Kuldeep Yadav (12th man)

Aakash Chopra’s India T20I XI:

KL Rahul (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Manish Pandey, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Deepak Chahar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur (12th man).

TAGS: , , ,

CATEGORY: India, KL Rahul, News, T20, Test Match, Virat Kohli

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Shubro is an ardent fan of sports, be it cricket, soccer, or tennis, he has an eye for all. Meticulous cricket writer by the day and an avid FIFA mobile player by the night, his life revolves around sports. The goal is to trott around the globe and to spread happiness through his goofy sense of humour. Write to him at mukherjeeshubro@gmail.com.