Lord’s cricket announces best home and visitors’ honours board XIs

Posted On / /
Lord’s cricket announces best home and visitors’ honours board XIs
Lords Cricket announces home and visitors honours board XI (Image Source: Twitter)

Lord’s cricket ground in London is undoubtedly one of the stadiums where every cricketer dreams to play. Not only playing, but cricketers also wish to perform well there in order to register his/her name on the popular honour’s board which is considered tremendously prestigious.

In the enormous history of the captivating game, so many players have successfully etched their name on the honours board. To mark presence on the honours board, one has to either score a ton or take five wickets. Not all top cricketers managed to gain success at the venue but did shine for their respective teams at the historic stadium.

Quoting the same, the Twitter handle of Lord’s has revealed a unique home and visitors’ honours board XIs. When it comes to visitors XI, the opening role has been given to Graeme Smith and Sir Gordon Greenidge. Smith is also the captain of the side. For the middle-order, Sir Don Bradman, Sir Viv Richards and Sir Garry Sobers have been picked.

At the sixth spot, the ‘Mecca of Cricket’ has chosen former Australia skipper Allan Border. For the wicket-keeper role, Sri Lanka’s stalwart Kumar Sangakkara has been selected. Amongst bowlers. Sir Richard Hadlee, Malcolm Marshall and Glenn McGrath are picked to make a deadly pace attack. The veteran left-armer Bishan Singh Bedi is the lone spinner in the visitors’ XI.

Graham Gooch will captain home honours board XI

When it comes to home honours board XI, Lord’s cricket went with former English skipper Graham Gooch as the leader of the side. He will also open the innings along with left-handed batsman Alastair Cook.

The current England Test captain Joe Root has been picked to bat at number three while Denis Compton and Kevin Pietersen will show their willow at number four and five, respectively.

The legendary Sir Ian Botham and current team member Ben Stokes have been chosen to play the role of all-rounders. Former keeper Alec Stewart will hold the gloves behind the stumps. At the same time, Derek Underwood, Fred Trueman and modern-day speedster James Anderson have been selected to form an unplayable bowling attack.

Here is Lord’s visitors honours board XI:

Graeme Smith (c), Sir Gordon Greenidge, Sir Don Bradman, Sir Viv Richards, Sir Garry Sobers, Allan Border, Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Sir Richard Hadlee, Malcolm Marshall, Bishan Singh Bedi, Glenn McGrath.

Here is Lord’s home honours board XI:

Alastair Cook, Graham Gooch (c), Joe Root, Denis Compton, Kevin Pietersen, Sir Ian Botham, Ben Stokes, Alec Stewart (wk), Derek Underwood, Fred Trueman, James Anderson.

TAGS: , , ,

CATEGORY: Australia, Graeme Smith, News

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Weekly Newsletter.

About the Author:
Akshat is just another cricket fan who’s grown up watching the likes of Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid. Cricket runs in his veins. Cover drive is his favorite sight, and a ball meeting the middle of the bat is his favorite sound. You can write to him at akshat.gaur@crickettimes.com or aks333.in@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.