“On this day in 2013”: ICC shares a flashback video of India’s Champions Trophy triumph

Posted On / /
ICC Champions Trophy 2013 Winner- India

Exactly seven years ago on this day (June 23), India defeated hosts England to clinch their second ICC Champions Trophy title at the Edgbaston Cricket Ground in Birmingham. With that thrilling win, India also became the second team after Australia to win the ICC Champions Trophy more than once.

Also, with this triumph, MS Dhoni became the first captain in the history of the game to win all three major ICC trophies – 2007 T20 World Cup, ODI World Cup in 2011 and the 2013 Champions Trophy.

After frustrating showers, the game was reduced to 20-overs per side. India first scored 129 for seven and then restricted England to 124 for eight in a nail-biting encounter that went down to the last ball.

After being put in to bat, Dhoni-led India struggled on a sluggish track. The Men in Blue were rescued by a 47-run sixth-wicket partnership between Virat Kohli (43) and Ravindra Jadeja (33 not out).

Chasing 130 to win, England were left tottering at 46/4 in the eighth over as Alastair Cook (2), Jonathan Trott (20), Ian Bell (13), and Joe Root (7) were all sent back to the hut.

Eoin Morgan and Ravi Bopara then steadied England’s ship as the duo added a 64-run stand for the fifth wicket. However, with just 20 runs away from the target, the English side lost the wickets of Morgan (33) and Bopara (30) as both the settled batsmen were sent back to the hut by Indian pacer Ishant Sharma.

Captain Dhoni, Kohli jumped in joy as the delirious Indian players hugged each other. In contrast, the others were busy collecting souvenir stumps to mark another remarkable chapter in Indian cricket history.

Here’s the throwback video shared by ICC:

Ravindra Jadeja won the ‘Player of the Match’ award for his all-round performance in the final while left-handed opening batsman Shikhar Dhawan was named the ‘Player of the Series’ for scoring 363 runs in the tournament.

It was India’s second Champions Trophy title as they won the first one jointly with Sri Lanka back in 2002.

TAGS: , , , , ,

CATEGORY: ICC, India, MS Dhoni, News, Video

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at anirudh@crickettimes.com or anirudhsingh2904@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.