Michael Hussey picks his all-time ‘fearsome’ IPL XI, names KL Rahul as the 12th man

Posted On / /
Michael Hussey picks his all-time ‘fearsome’ IPL XI, names KL Rahul as the 12th man
Michael Hussey, KL Rahul (Image Source: Twitter)

Australia’s Michael Hussey was indisputably one of the most dexterous cricketers the world has ever seen. His ability to knock-out any bowling unit in challenging situations was enough to elucidate the kind of talent he was during his cricketing days. That’s the reason he is considered as the sharpest cricketing mind out there. And whenever he comes up with his favourite players or teams, it gets respect from the followers of the game straight away.

Recently, Hussey opined that Indian batsman Rohit Sharma is rich with the “ability and temperament” to reach new heights in the upcoming India tour of Australia which is scheduled to begin from the first week of December later this year.

Now once again, Hussey has exhibited his cricketing wisdom as he came up with his all-time ‘fearsome’ XI from the Indian Premier League (IPL). While speaking to sports presenter Chetan Narula on his YouTube channel, the 45-year-old Aussie picked a special IPL XI. He started the proceedings by naming the openers in the form of Mumbai Indians (MI) skipper Rohit Sharma and Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) captain David Warner.

Rohit is one of the most consistent hitters in IPL. In 188 games, the 33-year-old has accumulated 4898 runs which is the third-highest by any batsman in the lucrative league. Warner, on the other hand, has clubbed 4706 runs – highest by a foreign player.

For the number three and four, Hussey selected two gems from Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB). He picked RCB skipper Virat Kohli at number three and his partner-in-crime AB de Villiers for the fourth spot.

Kohli with 5412 runs to his name in 177 matches is the leading run-scorer in the lucrative league. Similarly, De Villiers has amassed 4395 runs – third-most run-scorer amongst overseas cricketers.

For the following three positions, Hussey picked Chennai Super Kings (CSK) captain MS Dhoni, MI all-rounder Hardik Pandya, and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) biggest match-winner Andre Russell.

Hussey made Dhoni the captain of his team. The Ranchi-born is one of the most successful leaders of the cash-rich league. MSD has guided CSK to 104 wins and three IPL title victories.

Amongst bowlers, the Western Australian went with two spinners – Rashid Khan and Yuzvendra Chahal and two seamers – Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah. The Aussie also picked the 12th man in KL Rahul.

Chahal has featured in 84 games and has taken 100 wickets – 14th most by any bowler, whereas Rashid has 55 scalps to his name in 46 matches. When it comes to the pacers, then Bhuvneshwar has grabbed 133 wickets – sixth-most by any bowler in the history of IPL. While Bumrah has earned 82 wickets in 77 matches.

Here is Michael Hussey’s all-time fearsome IPL XI:

Rohit Sharma, David Warner, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, MS Dhoni (c), Hardik Pandya, Andre Russell, Rashid Khan, Yuzvendra Chahal, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, KL Rahul (12th man).

TAGS: , ,

CATEGORY: India, IPL, KL Rahul, Mike Hussey, News

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Akshat is just another cricket fan who’s grown up watching the likes of Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid. Cricket runs in his veins. Cover drive is his favorite sight, and a ball meeting the middle of the bat is his favorite sound. You can write to him at akshat.gaur@crickettimes.com or aks333.in@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.