‘I tip my hat to you’: India captain Virat Kohli pens a heartfelt post for MS Dhoni

Posted On / /
Virat Kohli and MS Dhoni. (Image Source: Twitter)
  • MS Dhoni announced his international retirement through an Instagram post on Saturday evening.

  • "The world has seen achievements, I've seen the person": Virat Kohli thanks MS Dhoni for everything.

India captain Virat Kohli on Saturday penned a heartfelt note for MS Dhoni after the former skipper announced his retirement from international cricket.

Kohli said that whatever MSD has done for the country will always remain in everyone’s heart. Dhoni is the only captain to win all ICC trophies – T20 World Cup in 2007, ODI World Cup in 2011 and the Champions Trophy in 2013.

Popularly referred to as ‘Captain Cool’, the Ranchi-born cricketer is known for his calmness and excellent captaincy on the field.

Kohli also said that the respect he received from Dhoni will always stay in his heart.

“Every cricketer has to end his journey one day, but still when someone you’ve gotten to know so closely announces that decision, you feel the emotion much more. What you’ve done for the country will always remain in everyone’s heart,” Kohli tweeted.

“But the mutual respect and warmth I’ve received from you will always stay in mine. The world has seen achievements, I’ve seen the person. Thanks for everything skip. I tip my hat to you @msdhoni,” he added.

There’s only one MS Dhoni: Hardik Pandya

Baroda all-rounder Hardik Pandya, who made his international debut under Dhoni in 2016, called his former skipper ‘a friend’ and ‘an elder brother’.

“There’s only one #MSDhoni. Thank you, my friend and elder brother for being the biggest inspiration in my career. Will miss playing with you in the blue jersey but am sure you will always be there for me and will keep guiding me #7,” Pandya tweeted.

Dhoni had made his ODI debut versus Bangladesh in 2004. He featured in 350 ODIs, amassed 10773 runs a sensational average of 50.6.

The veteran wicket-keeper batsman will continue to captain Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in the Indian Premier League (IPL) T20.

The IPL 2020 will take place in the UAE from September 19 to November 10, and the tournament will run for 53 days. This year’s edition will be played across three venues – Abu Dhabi, Dubai, and Sharjah.

TAGS: , ,


For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at anirudh@crickettimes.com or anirudhsingh2904@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.