Rajasthan Royals, Kings XI Punjab and Sunrisers Hyderabad to drop one player each for IPL 2020

Posted On / /
  • IPL 2020 is set to begin from September 19 in UAE.

  • Players will play under strict norms and restrictions.

Rajasthan Royals, Kings XI Punjab and Sunrisers Hyderabad to drop one player each for IPL 2020
Priety Zinta, KL Rahul (Image Source: Twitter)

The United Arab Emirates (UAE) is all set to host cricket’s biggest carnival, the Indian Premier League (IPL) from September 19 to November 10. The highly-rated T20 tournament will be played amid COVID-19 period so there will be strict norms and restrictions for the players and support staff of IPL franchises. Players are expected to experience at least five coronavirus tests before going at the nets in UAE.

Apart from the SOPs, the IPL Governing Council, in a recently concluded meeting, decided that teams can travel to UAE with a maximum of 24 players in each squad. This decision was taken by the council keeping in mind the maximum of 24 players bought by the majority of IPL franchises at the IPL auction.

However, the IPL Governing Council has given a proper window to the franchises to replace their players under the COVID-19 substitute option which will work during the entire tournament.

Coming to the franchises, Kings XI Punjab (KXIP), Rajasthan Royals (RR) and Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) had picked 25 players each during the IPL players’ auction in 2019. Now this means that they will have to drop one player each from their respective squads for the 13th edition of the lucrative league.

Here is a complete list of players of all the three IPL franchises for 2020:

Rajasthan Royals:

Mahipal Lomror, Manan Vohra, Riyan Parag, Steve Smith, Robin Uthappa, David Miller, Ankit Rajpoot, Mayank Markande, Jofra Archer, Shreyas Gopal, Varun Aaron, Jaydev Unadkat, Kartik Tyagi, Akash Singh, Oshane Thomas, Andrew Tye, Ben Stokes, Rahul Tewatia, Shashank Singh, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Anirudha Joshi, Tom Curran, Jos Buttler, Sanju Samson, Anuj Rawat

Kings XI Punjab:

Chris Gayle, Mayank Agarwal, Karun Nair, Sarfaraz Khan, Mandeep Singh, Sheldon Cottrell, Ishan Porel, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohammed Shami, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Arshdeep Singh, Hardus Viljoen, M Ashwin, J Suchith, Harpreet Brar, Darshan Nalkande, Glenn Maxwell, James Neesham, Chris Jordan, Krishnappa Gowtham, Deepak Hooda, Tajinder Singh Dhillon, KL Rahul (C), Nicholas Pooran, Prabhsimran Singh.

Sunrisers Hyderabad:

Kane Williamson, David Warner, Manish Pandey, Virat Singh, Priyam Garg, Abdul Samad, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed, Sandeep Sharma, Siddharth Kaul, Billy Stanlake, T Natarajan, Abhishek Sharma, Shahbaz Nadeem, Mitchell Marsh, Fabian Allen, Vijay Shankar, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Sanjay Yadav, Jonny Bairstow, Wriddhiman Saha, Shreevats Goswami, Bavanaka Sandeep, Basil Thampi.

TAGS: , , ,


For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Akshat is just another cricket fan who’s grown up watching the likes of Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid. Cricket runs in his veins. Cover drive is his favorite sight, and a ball meeting the middle of the bat is his favorite sound. You can write to him at akshat.gaur@crickettimes.com or aks333.in@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.