Tom Curran was wrongly given caught behind in the 18th over of RR's innings.
The Royals defeated Super Kings by 16 runs in their season-opener of IPL 2020.
The 2020 edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) witnessed yet another brain fade during a match between Rajasthan Royals (RR) and Chennai Super Kings (CSK) on Wednesday, September 23.
The incident occurred in the 18th over in the RR’s innings when Tom Curran was given caught behind by the on-field umpire, Chettithody Shamshuddin, even though the ball had struck the thigh pad of the batsman.
Curran was left perplexed by the decision as he showed his reluctance while walking back to the dug-out. The English all-rounder couldn’t use the DRS since it was already exhausted by Rahul Tewatia.
However, the officials too felt a bit unconvinced as they went upstairs to avoid any controversy. Curran, who started trudging back, was asked to stop and wait for the final decision.
The replays affirmed that there wasn’t any connection between the bat and the ball. Moreover, the leather didn’t even carry to the CSK skipper MS Dhoni’s gloves.
The whole episode became a subject of incessant rage among the cricketing fandoms who lashed out everyone from the on-field umpires to the players involved.
“Tom Curran is given out. Umpires discuss. MSD too. Tom Curran is given not-out,” tweeted RR on their official account.
— Rajasthan Royals (@rajasthanroyals) September 22, 2020
RR starts IPL 2020 with a bang
Meanwhile, the Royals started their IPL 2020 campaign on a winning note after defeating CSK by 16 runs.
Batting first, the Royals posted a daunting total of 216 in twenty overs, courtesy a fiery half-century from Sanju Samson as well as Steve Smith.
Samson scored 74 off just 32 deliveries, and his innings was laced with a whopping nine maximums and a single boundary.
Chasing 217, CSK could only make as many as 200 runs in twenty overs. Faf du Plessis, who made a fiery 72 off 37 balls, was the top-scorer for the Super Kings.
Here is how fans reacted to the incident:
#CSKvsRR#CSK previous year #ThalaDhoni @msdhoni mass moment . everyone
unforgettable memory of every #ChennaiSuperKings fans for #RRvCSK this match #whistlepoduarmy@imjadeja @ChennaiIPL pic.twitter.com/KROj2KUn4k
— VICKY.T☮ (@vignesh63744594) September 22, 2020
Shame on MS Dhoni and Deepak Chahar for wrong appeal against Tom Curran @IPL This is against game spirit. Utter shameful act.
— Vishal Sharma (@TheVishalSharma) September 22, 2020
•Dhoni appealed for catch for the bounced ball
•Umpire gives it out
•Tom Curran waits
•3rd umpire gives not out
Then in ball tracking it shows
•Ball was hitting on pads and was LBW
— Bhagu (@bhagu_vlogs) September 22, 2020
What the hell is wrong with umpiring standards in IPL, first umpire didn't give Steve Smith, now after taking a long pause they went on to check if it was clear catch or not.
Tom Curran was not out still umpire gives him out #IPL2020 #RRvCSK
— Bhupesh Rawat (@Bhupesh70172543) September 22, 2020
— SIDDHΔRTH (@SIDD_UCTIVE) September 22, 2020
Is anyone going to talk about how MS Dhoni not only claimed wicket when ball clearly bounced Infront of him but also contested to umpire when he wanted to check the catch,leave aside the part that it didn't hit bat!#Cheats#IPL2020 #CSKvsMI
— Anand Singh (@Rsideofnation) September 22, 2020