BCCI announces India’s Test, ODI & T20I squads for Australia tour; Varun Chakravarthy gets maiden call up

Posted On
Virat Kohli, Varun Chakravarthy
  • BCCI have announced the Virat Kohli-led Test, ODI and T20I squads for Australia tour.

  • Rohit Sharma's name is missing from the limited-over squads.

On Monday, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced India’s ODI, T20I and Test squads for the nearly two-month-long tour of Australia, which is scheduled to begin from November 27.

Virat Kohli will continue to lead India in ODI, T20I and Test teams. Meanwhile, Rohit Sharma will miss the series against Australia. In the absence of ‘Hitman’, KL Rahul has been named as the vice-captain of ODI and T20I teams.

Rahul has been selected in the Test squad as well. Ajinkya Rahane shall be the vice-captain in the longest format. Veteran pacer Ishant Sharma has also not been named in the red-ball squad.

The fitness of both Rohit and Ishant will get monitored by the BCCI Medical Team.

“Four additional bowlers – Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Kartik Tyagi, Ishan Porel and T. Natarajan – will travel with the Indian contingent,” tweeted BCCI.

Varun Chakravarthy gets T20I call-up; Mohammed Siraj named in the Test squad

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) mystery spinner Varun Chakravarthy has received his maiden national-team call-up. Varun has been included in India’s T20I squad. His five-for against Delhi Capitals (DC) in the ongoing IPL 2020 impressed the selectors.

Apart from Chakravarthy, Mayank Agarwal and Shikhar Dhawan, have also been added to India’s T20I squad, while Kuldeep Yadav and Rishabh Pant failed to make a cut. Mohammed Siraj, who is having a tremendous IPL 2020, has been rewarded with a Test call up.

Here are the squads:

Test squad: Virat Kohli (c), Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vc), Hanuma Vihari, Shubman Gill, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Rishabh Pant (wk), Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammed Siraj.

ODI squad: Virat Kohli (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, KL Rahul (vc & wk), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Mayank Agarwal, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur.

T20I squad: Virat Kohli (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul (vc & wk), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Sanju Samson (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar, Varun Chakravarthy.


For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Akshat is just another cricket fan who’s grown up watching the likes of Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid. Cricket runs in his veins. Cover drive is his favorite sight, and a ball meeting the middle of the bat is his favorite sound. You can write to him at akshat.gaur@crickettimes.com or aks333.in@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.