7 lowest powerplay scores in IPL history

Posted On / /
  • KKR scored the fifth-lowest powerplay total in IPL history against RCB on Wednesday.

  • Mohammed Siraj bowled an unplayable spell in the first innings.

7 lowest powerplay scores in IPL history
RCB vs CSK, KKR vs RCB (Photo Source: IPL T20)

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) restricted Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) to 84/ 8 – the lowest total in the history of the Indian Premier League (IPL) by a team which batted for full 20 overs.

Opting to bat first, the Knight Riders got off to a disastrous start, losing their top order in the first four overs of the match. Siraj tore into KKR’s batting line up with his two maiden overs and three wickets in the powerplay. The Eoin Morgan-led side failed to recover from the early jolts and were restricted to a paltry total.

Defending 84, KKR bowlers failed to pick up a wicket inside the powerplay for the fifth consecutive match but briefly bounced back with successive wickets of openers Aaron Finch and Devdutt Padikkal in the seventh over. Skipper Virat Kohli and Gurkeerat Singh Mann steadied the innings and breezed through the run chase with eight wickets to spare.

In the meantime, the Knights also registered the fifth-lowest powerplay score in the history of the tournament. It was KKR’s lowest score though. The overall lowest score of 14 for two is held by the Rajasthan Royals (RR) against RCB itself back in IPL 2009 at the Newlands in Cape Town.

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) have had some rough games as they feature three times in the top four. RCB themselves are on the list as they scored 17 for one against the Super Kings in the 2014 IPL at JSCA International Stadium in Ranchi.

Here are the seven lowest powerplay scores in IPL history:

1.) Rajasthan Royals
Score: 14/2
Opposition: Royal Challengers Bangalore
Venue: Cape Town
Year: 2009

2.) Chennai Super Kings
Score: 15/2
Opposition: Kolkata Knight Riders
Venue: Kolkata
Year: 2009

3.) Chennai Super Kings
Score: 16/1
Opposition: Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals)
Venue: Raipur
Year: 2005

4.) Chennai Super Kings
Score: 16/1
Opposition: Royal Challengers Bangalore
Venue: Chennai
Year: 2019

5.) Kolkata Knight Riders
Score: 17/4
Opposition: Royal Challengers Bangalore
Venue: Abu Dhabi
Year: 2020

6.) Mumbai Indians
Score: 17/3
Opposition: Kings XI Punjab
Venue: Mumbai
Year: 2015

7.) Royal Challengers Bangalore
Score: 17/1
Opposition: Chennai Super Kings
Venue: Ranchi
Year: 2014

TAGS: , , ,

CATEGORY: IPL, Kolkata Knight Riders

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Weekly Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at anirudh@crickettimes.com or anirudhsingh2904@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.