India announces playing XI for World Test Championship final against New Zealand

Posted On / /
  • BCCI announces the playing XI of Team India for the World Test Championship final.

  • Both Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin have been named in the playing XI.

India announces playing XI for World Test Championship final against New Zealand
Team India announces playing XI for WTC final (Image Source: Twitter)

On Thursday, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced Team India’s playing XI for the ICC World Test Championship (WTC) final against New Zealand. The much-anticipated match will start on Friday (June 18) at Rose Bowl in Southampton.

Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill have been picked as openers, while Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, and Ajinkya Rahane will bear the responsibility of the middle-order. Rishabh Pant would keep the wickets in the summit clash.

Ishant Sharma will be leading the pace bowling attack comprising of Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammad Shami. Interestingly, all the three pacers were part of the previous UK tour in 2018.

Further, India have also picked two spin-bowling all-rounders in the form of Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin.

Here is India’s Playing XI for the WTC final:

Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma.

More to follow…

TAGS: , , , ,


For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Akshat is just another cricket fan who’s grown up watching the likes of Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid. Cricket runs in his veins. Cover drive is his favorite sight, and a ball meeting the middle of the bat is his favorite sound. You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.