PCB announces PSL 2021 team of the tournament; Mohammad Rizwan to lead the side

Posted On / /
  • PCB has announced the team of the tournament for PSL 2021.

  • Three players from Multan Sultans have been picked for the team.

PCB announces PSL 2021 team of the tournament; Mohammad Rizwan to lead the side
Mohammad Rizwan, Babar Azam (Image Source: Twitter)

The team of the tournament for the recently concluded Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2021 has been announced. The special team consists of some of the top performers who assisted their respective franchises to shine in the competition.

The final of the league took place at Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi between Multan Sultans and Peshawar Zalmi on Thursday. Multan defeated Zalmi by 47 runs to lift the coveted trophy. Sohaib Maqsood was named ‘Player of the Match’ as well as ‘Player of the Tournament’.

In a press release, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) announced this year’s PSL team of the tournament. The 12-men side was picked by a highly respected jury that features prominent names like David Gower, Pommie Mbangwa, Ramiz Raja and Sana Mir.

The ideal team contains three players: Multan Sultans and Islamabad United, two cricketers each from Peshawar Zalmi and Lahore Qalandars, and one star from Karachi Kings.

Mohammad Rizwan leads the side, and he was also given the responsibility of wicket-keeping. James Faulkner is the 12th man in the side.

Here is the team of the tournament of PSL 2021:

  • Hazratullah Zazai (Peshawar Zalmi)
    Matches: 5, Runs: 212, Avg: 42.40, Highest: 77, SR: 185.96
  • Babar Azam (Karachi Kings)
    Matches: 11, Runs: 554, Avg: 69.25, Highest: 90 (not out), SR: 132.53
  • Colin Munro (Islamabad United)
    Matches: 7, Runs: 285, Avg: 57.00, Highest: 90 (not out), SR: 169.64
  • Sohaib Maqsood (Multan Sultans)
    Matches: 12, Runs: 428, Avg: 47.55, Highest: 65 (not out), SR: 156.77
  • Mohammad Rizwan (Multan Sultans) (captain and wicketkeeper)
    Matches: 12, Runs: 500, Avg: 45.45, Highest: 82 (not out), SR: 127.87
  • Asif Ali (Islamabad United)
    Matches: 12, Runs: 224, Avg: 28.00, Highest: 75, SR: 167.16
  • Rashid Khan (Lahore Qalandars)
    Matches: 8, Runs: 75, Avg: 18.75, Highest: 27 (not out), SR: 136.36; Wickets: 11, Eco: 5.46
  • Wahab Riaz (Peshawar Zalmi)
    Matches: 12, Wickets: 18, Avg: 23.44, Economy Rate: 8.97
  • Hasan Ali (Islamabad United)
    Matches: 10, Wickets: 13, Avg: 20.69, Eco: 6.75
  • Shaheen Shah Afridi (Lahore Qalandars)
    Matches: 10, Wickets: 16, Avg: 18.25, Economy Rate: 7.30
  • Shahnawaz Dahani (Multan Sultans)
    Matches: 11, Wickets: 20, Avg: 17.00, Economy Rate: 8.42
  • James Faulkner (12th, Lahore Qalandars)
    Matches: 6, Wickets: 13, Avg: 12.00, Economy Rate: 6.50

TAGS: , , , ,

CATEGORY: Pakistan

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Akshat is just another cricket fan who’s grown up watching the likes of Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid. Cricket runs in his veins. Cover drive is his favorite sight, and a ball meeting the middle of the bat is his favorite sound. You can write to him at akshat.gaur@crickettimes.com or aks333.in@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.