BCCI announces India A squad for upcoming South Africa tour

Posted On / /
  • Priyank Panchal has been named as captain of India A squad.

  • For South Africa tour, some capped players were selected from the senior Indian team.

BCCI announces India A squad for upcoming South Africa tour
Priyank Panchal (Pic source: Twitter)

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced India A squad for the upcoming tour of South Africa. India A will play three four-day matches on the tour, starting from November 23.

The India ‘A’ squad picked by All-India Senior Selection Committee has some capped players of the senior Indian team, IPL sensations, and a few exceptionally talented young domestic cricketers.

Priyank Panchal has been named captain of the 14-member squad, including some known players like Prithvi Shaw, Navdeep Saini, Devdutt Padikkal, K Gowtham and Rahul Chahar.

Middle-order batter Sarfaraz Khan was also selected in the squad with all-rounder Baba Aparajith and opener Abhimanyu Easwaran.

The selectors even gave chance to 21-year-old speedster Umran Malik and seam bolwer Ishan Porel.

Upendra Yadav will take over the keeping role.

India A squad for South Africa tour:

Priyank Panchal (Captain), Prithvi Shaw, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Devdutt Padikkal, Sarfaraz Khan, Baba Aparajith, Upendra Yadav (wicketkeeper), K Gowtham, Rahul Chahar, Saurabh Kumar, Navdeep Saini, Umran Malik, Ishan Porel, Arzan Nagwaswalla.

Fixtures of India A tour of South Africa 2021:

  • 1st match: 23rd-26th Nov 2021 at Bloemfontein
  • 2nd match: 29th November- 2nd December 2021 at Bloemfontein
  • 3rd match- 6th-9th December 2021 at Bloemfontein

TAGS: , ,


For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Shivam is one of the cricket enthusiast who raised by watching Ganguly, Gambhir and Dhoni. Since all are retired, he decided to start his innings. You can write to him at shivam.shukla@crickettimes.com or myjunkorner@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter, Instagram and Linkedin.