NZC announces summer schedule: Bangladesh, South Africa, Australia to tour New Zealand

Posted On / /
  • New Zealand Cricket have announced the summer schedule for their men's and women's teams.

  • The 2022 season starts with home Test series against Bangladesh in Tauranga.

NZC announces summer schedule: Bangladesh, South Africa, Australia to tour New Zealand
New Zealand announces summer schedule for 2021 (Image Source: Twitter)

New Zealand Cricket (NZC) announced the jam-packed schedule for their Men’s and Women’s teams for 2022. The men’s team will start the season with home Test series against Bangladesh in January. Bangladesh will play a two-match Test leg, starting from January 01 at the Bay Oval in Tauranga.

After the series against Bangladesh, New Zealand will tour to Australia for the white-ball series, starting January 30 in Perth. The Black Caps will play three One-Day Internationals (ODIs) and a one-off T20 International (T20I) there.

Australia will return to New Zealand in March for the three-match T20I series. Before taking on the Aussies, the Black Caps will host South Africa for two Tests in Christchurch and Wellington, respectively.

New Zealand Women’s team will host India Women for the limited-overs leg, which shall begin from February 09 in Napier. They will play one T20I and five ODI matches.

New Zealand’s men’s team shall also host the Netherlands in March-April for a one-off T20I and three ODIs. These three ODIs, as well as those against Australia, will be a part of the ICC ODI Super League.

“It hasn’t been a straight-forward process, and we’ve needed to work through a number of unexpected changes before finalising the arrangements,” said NZC chief executive David White as quoted by Cricbuzz.

“The India series is a crucial part of the White Ferns’ World Cup preparations. The four Tests are very important for the Blackcaps in terms of their World Test Championship defence. And, as part of the ICC Super League, the Blackcaps’ six ODIs carry similar significance,” he added.

Here is New Zealand’s schedule for summer 2022:

New Zealand Men vs Bangladesh – Test series

  • 1st Test – January 01-05, Bay Oval, Tauranga
  • 2nd Test – January 09-13, Hagley Oval, Christchurch

New Zealand Men’s tour of Australia:

  • 1st ODI – January 30, Optus Stadium, Perth
  • 2nd ODI – February 2, Blundstone Arena, Hobart
  • 3rd ODI – February 5, Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney
  • Only T20I – February 8, Manuka Oval, Canberra

New Zealand Women vs India:

  • Only T20I – February 9, McLean Park, Napier
  • 1st ODI – February 11, McLean Park, Napier
  • 2nd ODI – February 14, Saxton Oval, Nelson
  • 3rd ODI – February 16, Saxton Oval, Nelson
  • 4th ODI – February 22, John Davies Oval, Queenstown
  • 5th ODI – February 24, John Davies Oval, Queenstown

New Zealand Men vs South Africa – Test series

  • 1st Test – Feb 17-21, Hagley Oval, Christchurch
  • 2nd Test – Feb 25-Mar 1, Basin Reserve, Wellington

New Zealand Men vs Australia:

  • 1st T20I – March 17, Sky Stadium, Wellington
  • 2nd T20I – March 18, Sky Stadium, Wellington
  • 3rd T20I – March 20, McLean Park, Napier

New Zealand Men vs Netherlands:

  • Only T20I – Mar 25, Bay Oval, Tauranga
  • 1st ODI – March 29, University Oval, Dunedin
  • 2nd ODI – April 2, Seddon Park, Hamilton
  • 3rd ODI – April 4, Seddon Park, Hamilton

TAGS: , , , ,

CATEGORY: New Zealand

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Akshat is just another cricket fan who’s grown up watching the likes of Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid. Cricket runs in his veins. Cover drive is his favorite sight, and a ball meeting the middle of the bat is his favorite sound. You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.