Perth Scorchers claim first WBBL title; Harmanpreet Kaur becomes Player of the Tournament

Posted On / /
  • Perth Scorchers defeated Adelaide Strikers to win the WBBL title on Saturday.

  • Marizanne Kapp was named 'Player of the Match' for her all-round performance.

Perth Scorchers claim first WBBL title; Harmanpreet Kaur becomes Player of the Tournament
Perth Scorchers win WBBL (Image Source: @WBBL)

Marizanne Kapp, with her all-round performance in the final of Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL) 2021, guided Perth Scorchers to a memorable win over Adelaide Strikers as Scorchers clinched their first-ever WBBL title on Saturday.

Asked to bat first, Scorchers posted 146/5 in their allotted 20 overs, thanks to valuable contributions by skipper Sophie Devine and Kapp. While Devine scored 35 off 33 balls with the help of six boundaries, Kapp remained unbeaten on 31 off 23 deliveries, including 4 fours to take Scorchers to a respectable total. Megan Schutt was the least expensive bowler for Adelaide, taking one for 19 in her quota of 4 overs.

In reply, Strikers could only manage to reach 134/6 in their stipulated 20 overs, losing the epic final by 12 runs.

Captain Tahlia McGrath was the only major highlight in Strikers’ chase, scoring 36 off 29 balls. Kapp, who shined with the bat in the first innings, grabbed one wicket while conceding 25 runs in her quota of 4 overs. Taneale Peschel and Heather Graham also shined with the ball, with both taking a couple of scalps.

“It was a terrible week for me, I was ill, couldn’t get out of bed. I don’t think I deserve this, the women there, deserve it, it was a team effort. So odd, it wasn’t easy, she is a fantastic player, knows me so well but happy to be here [on facing off against her wife – Dane van Niekerk in the final],” said Kapp after winning the ‘Player of the Match’ award.

WBBL titles since the beginning:

  • WBBL 01 –Sydney Thunder
  • WBBL 02 – Sydney Sixers
  • WBBL 03 – Sydney Sixers
  • WBBL 04 – Brisbane Heat
  • WBBL 05 – Brisbane Heat
  • WBBL 06 – Sydney Thunder
  • WBBL07 – Perth Scorchers

India’s Harmanpreet Kaur, who represented Melbourne Renegades this season, was named ‘Player of the Tournament’ for her all-round performance throughout the tournament. Harmanpreet scored 406 runs in 13 matches and took 15 wickets.

TAGS: , , ,

CATEGORY: Perth Scorchers, Women Cricket

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Weekly Newsletter.

About the Author:
Akshat is just another cricket fan who’s grown up watching the likes of Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid. Cricket runs in his veins. Cover drive is his favorite sight, and a ball meeting the middle of the bat is his favorite sound. You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.