T20 World Cup 2021: ICC announces the Team of Tournament; names Babar Azam as captain

Posted On / /
  • ICC has announced 'Team of the Tournament' from T20 World Cup 2021.

  • Babar Azam was named the captain of the special team.

T20 World Cup 2021: ICC announces the Team of Tournament; names Babar Azam as captain
David Warner, Babar Azam (Image Source: Twitter)

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced the Team of the Tournament from T20 World Cup 2021.

Notably, Australia won the 2021 edition of the tournament after defeating New Zealand by eight wickets in the final at the Dubai International Stadium on Sunday (November 14).

The Team of the Tournament has been picked by a selection panel of commentators, international players and journalists. The international apex body named three players from the champion side Australia in the star-studded XI.

Aussie opener David Warner, who smashed a match-winning 53 off 38 balls in the final, was selected as an opener in the special XI. Warner was named ‘Player of the Tournament’ for his impressive batting show. The left-handed batter made 289 runs and finished as the second-highest run-getter.

For Warner’s partner, ICC picked England’s Jos Buttler, who enjoyed a brilliant campaign in the multi-team competition. Buttler scored 269 runs in the global showpiece event.

Pakistan skipper Babar Azam was named the captain of the side. He enjoyed a tremendous tournament after finishing as the highest run-scorer with 303 runs from 6 matches. Before their exit from the semi-finals, Babar led Pakistan to five victories in as many fixtures in the Super 12 stage.

Sri Lanka’s Charith Asalanka was picked at number 4 as he amassed 231 runs in the competition. Similarly, South Africa’s Aiden Markram was named at number 5 for his vital contributions in the middle-order.

Moeen Ali of England and Sri Lanka’s Wanindu Hasaranga were the two all-rounders in the Team of the Tournament. Hasaranga ended T20 World Cup 2021 as the leading wicket-taker with 16 scalps, while Moeen bagged seven wickets and scored 92 runs for the English team.

Adam Zampa was selected as the lone spinner in the side. His tremendous bowling guided Australia to title triumph..

Among the fast bowlers, the elite panel picked Trent Boult, Josh Hazlewood and Anrich Nortje. While New Zealand pacer Boult grabbed13 wickets, Australian pacer Hazlewood picked up 11 scalps, and South Africa’s Nortje took 9 wickets. Pakistan speedster Shaheen Afridi was named as the 12th man in the team.

Here is ICC Team of the Tournament:

Babar Azam (c), David Warner, Jos Buttler (wk), Charith Asalanka, Aiden Markram, Moeen Ali, Wanindu Hasaranga, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood, Trent Boult, Anrich Nortje, Shaheen Afridi (12th man).

TAGS: , ,

CATEGORY: ICC, T20, World Cup

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Akshat is just another cricket fan who’s grown up watching the likes of Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid. Cricket runs in his veins. Cover drive is his favorite sight, and a ball meeting the middle of the bat is his favorite sound. You can write to him at akshat.gaur@crickettimes.com or aks333.in@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.