T20 World Cup 2021: Prize money awarded to each participating team in the tournament

Posted On / /
  • The total prize money of the T20 World Cup 2021 was pegged at Rs 42 crore approximately.

  • This prize money will be divided among the 16 participating teams in the tournament.

T20 World Cup 2021: Prize money awarded to each participating team in the tournament
Australia (Pic Source: Twitter)

On Sunday (November 14), Australia registered an eight-wicket victory over New Zealand to win the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup for the first time.

Mitchell Marsh played a ferocious knock of 77 not out from 50 balls as Australia reached the challenging target of 173 with seven deliveries to spare in Dubai.

The 30-year-old added a crucial partnership of 92 runs for the second wicket with opener David Warner and continued to attack after the southpaw departed for 53 (38).

Marsh was dropped on 68, but at that stage, Aussies only needed 15 runs off 19 balls to pull off the highest chase in Men’s T20 World Cup final.

After Glenn Maxwell hit the winning runs, Marsh was mobbed by his teammates while he sat on his knees, overcoming the emotions after playing one of his finest T20I innings at the biggest stage.

The champions Australia received a total amount of Rs 11.9 crore for winning the tournament and an additional Rs 1.2 crores for winning 4 out of their 5 league matches in the Super 12 stages. On the other hand, runners-up New Zealand won Rs 5.95 crore for reaching the final and an additional Rs 1.2 Crores for posting 4 wins in the Super 12 stage.

Here is the prize money won by each team in the T20 World Cup 2021:

  • Australia (Winners) – Rs 13.1 crore
  • New Zealand (Runners-Up) – Rs 7.15 crore
  • Pakistan (Semi-final) – Rs 4.5 crore
  • England (Semi-final) – Rs 4.2 crore
  • Sri Lanka (Super 12) – Rs 2.02 crore
  • South Africa (Super 12) – Rs 1.72 crore
  • India (Super 12) – Rs 1.42 crore
  • Namibia (Super 12) – Rs 1.42 crore
  • Scotland (Super 12) – Rs 1.42 crore
  • Bangladesh (Super 12) – Rs 1.12 crore
  • Afghanistan (Super 12) – Rs 1.12 crore
  • West Indies (Super 12) – Rs 82 lakh
  • Oman (Eliminated in Qualifiers) – Rs 60 lakh
  • Ireland (Eliminated in Qualifiers) – Rs 60 lakh
  • Papua New Guinea (Eliminated in Qualifiers) – Rs 30 lakh
  • Netherlands (Eliminated in Qualifiers) – Rs 30 lakh

TAGS: , ,

CATEGORY: Australia, T20, World Cup

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at anirudh@crickettimes.com or anirudhsingh2904@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.