Harbhajan Singh names his all-time Test XI

Posted On / /
  • Harbhajan Singh named his all-time Test XI, including two Indian legends.

  • All the players in Harbhajan's Test XI are retired from their cricketing career except for one.

Harbhajan Singh names his all-time Test XI
Harbhajan Singh (Pic source: Twitter)

Indian legendary off-spinner Harbhajan Singh named his all-time Test XI. While talking to Sportskeeda, he picked his playing XI and started with England’s all-time leading run-getter Alastair Cook alongside former Indian ace batter Virender Sehwag.

Cook has played 161 Tests and scored 12473 runs at an average of 45.35. He has smashed 33 centuries and 57 fifties with the highest score of 294 runs.

Viru appeared in 104 Test matches and made 8596 runs with 23 tons and 32 half-centuries. The 43-year-old Sehwag is the only Indian to score two triple tons against Pakistan and South Africa respectively.

For the No.3, the former Punjab cricketer picked legendary West Indies player Brian Lara, who holds the record of highest individual score of 400 in Test Cricket. India’s cricket maestro Sachin Tendulkar was picked at No.4 by Harbhajan

Moving further in his lineup, the 41-year-old picked Steve Waugh and named him as his Test team captain. Waugh is considered one of the most successful Test skippers in history with 41 victories out of 57 occasions.

Followed by Waugh, all-rounder Jacques Kallis and wicket-keeper Kumar Sangakkara were picked at No.6 and No.7 positions, respectively.

Australia’s spin king Shane Warne was the lone spinner in Harbhajan’s XI. Warne has 708 wickets to his name in the red-ball format.
Wasim Akram kept at no.9 to whom Bhajji called the best left-arm pacer ever produced.

Among others in the bowling department, the Turbunator named Glenn McGrath (563 Test wickets) and James Anderson (632) in his formidable XI.

Sri Lanka’s greatest spinner Muttiah Muralitharan, who is the all-time leading wicket-taker in the Test, was picked to be the 12th man in Harbhajan’s Test team.

Notably, All the players in Harbhajan’s Test XI are retired from their cricketing career except for England’s pacer Anderson.

Here’s Harbhajan Singh’s all-time Test XI:
Alastair Cook, Virender Sehwag, Brian Lara, Sachin Tendulkar, Steve Waugh (c), Jacques Kallis, Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Shane Warne, Wasim Akram, Glenn McGrath, James Anderson, Muttiah Muralitharan (12th man).


CATEGORY: Harbhajan Singh

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Shivam is one of the cricket enthusiast who raised by watching Ganguly, Gambhir and Dhoni. Since all are retired, he decided to start his innings. You can write to him at shivam.shukla@crickettimes.com or myjunkorner@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter, Instagram and Linkedin.