IPL 2022: Remaining purse left for eight franchises after retentions

Posted On / /
  • All franchises submitted their list of retained players ahead of the mega auction of IPL 2022.

  • Delhi Capitals has the least purse available after the retention process.

IPL 2022: Remaining purse left for eight franchises after retentions
Purse available of all IPL teams after retention (Image Source: Twitter)

On Tuesday, all eight franchises announced the list of retained players ahead of the Indian Premier League (IPL) auctions for the 2022 season. There were some obvious choices, while some notable omissions surprised many fans.

Chennai Super Kings (CSK), Delhi Capitals (DC), Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) and Mumbai Indians (MI) retained 4 players each. Similarly, Rajasthan Royals (RR), Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) and Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) went with 3 players each. Punjab Kings (PBKS), on the other hand, have retained only 2 players.

Now that the retentions are decided, teams will have a task to find the right balance by picking players in the mega auction, which is expected to begin later this month. Each franchise had a purse of INR 90 crore, but some amounts have been deducted after the retention process. On that note, let’s have a look at the budget each franchise has available for the upcoming mega auction:

Kolkata Knight Riders – INR 48 crore

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) retained Andre Russell (INR 12 crore), Varun Chakravarthy (INR 8 crore), Venkatesh Iyer (INR 8 crore), and Sunil Narine (INR 6 crore).

Rajasthan Royals – INR 62 crore

Rajasthan Royals (RR) retained Sanju Samson (INR 14 crore), Jos Buttler (INR 10 crore), and Yashasvi Jaiswal (INR 4 crore).

Chennai Super Kings – INR 48 crore

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) retained four players Ravindra Jadeja (INR 16 crore), MS Dhoni (INR 12 crore), Moeen Ali (INR 8 crore) and Ruturaj Gaikwad (INR 6 crore).

Royal Challengers Bangalore – INR 57 crore

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) retained Virat Kohli (INR 15 crore), Glenn Maxwell (INR 11 crore) and Mohammed Siraj (INR 7 crore).

Delhi Capitals – INR 47.5 crore

Delhi Capitals (DC) retained Rishabh Pant (INR 16 crore), Prithvi Shaw (INR 9 crore), Anrich Nortje (INR 7.5 crore) and Axar Patel (INR 6.5 crore).

Mumbai Indians – INR 48 crore

Mumbai Indians (MI) retained Rohit Sharma (INR 16 crore), Jasprit Bumrah (INR 12 crore), Suryakumar Yadav (INR 8 crore), Kieron Pollard (INR 6 crore).

Punjab Kings – INR 72 crore

Punjab Kings only decided to retain two players in the form of Mayank Agarwal (INR 12 crore) and Arshdeep Singh (INR 4 crore).

Sunrisers Hyderabad – INR 68 crore

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) decided to retain Kane Williamson (INR 14 crore), Abdul Samad (INR 4 crore) and Umran Malik (INR 4 crore).

TAGS: , , , , , , , ,


For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Akshat is just another cricket fan who’s grown up watching the likes of Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid. Cricket runs in his veins. Cover drive is his favorite sight, and a ball meeting the middle of the bat is his favorite sound. You can write to him at akshat.gaur@crickettimes.com or aks333.in@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.