Shakib Al Hasan returns as Bangladesh name squad for 2nd Test against Pakistan

Posted On / /
  • Bangladesh announced squad for the second Test against Pakistan.

  • Shakib Al Hasan returned to the whites after missing out in the series opener.

Shakib Al Hasan returns as Bangladesh name squad for 2nd Test against Pakistan
Shakib Al Hasan returns to Bangladesh Test squad (Image Source: Twitter)

Bangladesh have announced the 20-member squad for the upcoming second and final Test of the ongoing two-match series against Pakistan on Tuesday. The second Test will start on December 04 at Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka.

No player was dropped out from the squad named for the recently concluded opening Test. Veteran all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan and pacer Taskin Ahmed have returned to the national team’s Test squad. Shakib and Taskin were declared fit after failing to recover from respective injuries in time for the Chattogram Test that Bangladesh lost to Pakistan by eight wickets.

In the series opener, Bangladesh batting was their main cause of concern as the bowling unit performed relatively well against a quality Pakistan side. Batter Liton Das and spinner Taijul Islam were the main highlights for the home team.

While Das smashed a century and fifty in the first and second innings, Taijul picked up eight wickets in the match, including a seven-wicket haul during the first essay. However, the rest of Bangladesh players could not perform up to the mark as the visitors defeated the hosts by eight wickets, thanks to Abid Ali heroics with the willow.

“We lost in the first one hour in the first innings and second innings as well. I thought Mushi and Liton batted really well. The pitch was still good for batting. But credit to them, especially Afridi and Hasan Ali. They bowled really well,” captain Mominul Haque had said after the match.

Here is the Bangladesh squad for the second Test against Pakistan:

Mominul Haque (c), Shadman Islam, Saif Hasan, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Liton Kumar Das, Yasir Ali Rabbi, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain Chowdhury, Abu Jayed Chowdhury Rahi, Nayeem Hasan, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Rejaur Rahman Raja, Khaled Ahmed, Shohidul Islam, Mohammad Naim Sheikh.

TAGS: , , , ,

CATEGORY: Shakib al Hasan

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Akshat is just another cricket fan who’s grown up watching the likes of Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid. Cricket runs in his veins. Cover drive is his favorite sight, and a ball meeting the middle of the bat is his favorite sound. You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.