CSA announces South Africa Women squad for West Indies ODIs; Sune Luus to lead in absence of Dane Van Niekerk

Posted On / /
  • CSA have named South Africa Women squad for the home ODI series against West Indies.

  • Sune Luus will lead the Proteas squad in the absence of injured Dane Van Niekerk.

CSA announces South Africa Women squad for West Indies ODIs; Sune Luus to lead in absence of Dane Van Niekerk
Sune Luus to lead Proteas in West Indies ODIs (Image Source: Twitter)

Cricket South Africa (CSA) has announced the 18-member Proteas Women squad for the upcoming ODI series against West Indies, starting January 28.

All-rounder Sune Luus has been named to lead the side in the absence of regular skipper Dane Van Niekerk, who was ruled out from this series as well as the Women’s World Cup 2022 due to ankle injury. Chloe Tryon shall be Luus’ deputy in the series against Windies.

“Sune has really managed the captaincy quite well in the absence of our leaders, Dane and Chloe, and we are quite excited to be giving her the role again, and in our conversations with her, she really rolled out the pathway for us, getting through the West Indies tour and for the World Cup,” said Clinton du Preez, Convenor of Selectors as quoted by Cricbuzz.

“We are quite happy to have her back in that role, and I am sure the leadership and the senior players in the team will give her massive support. Chloe as the vice-captain is a great combination between the two individuals and personalities, and we think it will be a balanced approach for our successes,” du Preez added.

Off-spinner Raisibe Ntozakhe has made her comeback in the national squad. Notably, Ntozakhe hasn’t played for South Africa since 2018, when she was suspended from bowling in international games due to her then illegal action. Recently, she has been cleared to bowl.

“It’s greatly important for us to fill the vacancy of Dane van Niekerk, and therefore we looked at a few options. It is also quite exciting to have Raisibe Ntozakhe back in the squad, and for her to be playing international cricket again, it will be a great opportunity for her to revive her career,” du Preez added further.

The four-match ODI series will be entirely played in Johannesburg. The two sides have met in a five-match series in the Caribbean last August, where the visitors won by 4-1.

Here is the South Africa Women squad:

Sune Luus (c), Chloe Tryon (vc), Andrie Steyn, Anneke Bosch, Ayabonga Khaka, Lara Goodall , Laura Wolvaardt, Marizanne Kapp, Masabata Klaas, Mignon du Preez, Nadine de Klerk, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Raisibe Ntozakhe, Shabnim Ismail, Sinalo Jafta, Tazmin Brits, Trisha Chetty, Tumi Sekhukhune

TAGS: , , , , , ,

CATEGORY: South Africa, Women Cricket

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Akshat is just another cricket fan who’s grown up watching the likes of Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid. Cricket runs in his veins. Cover drive is his favorite sight, and a ball meeting the middle of the bat is his favorite sound. You can write to him at akshat.gaur@crickettimes.com or aks333.in@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.