Sri Lanka announces 17-member squad for upcoming ODI series against Zimbabwe

Posted On / /
  • Sri Lanka have announced their ODI squad for the home series against Zimbabwe.

  • The ODI leg is set to begin on January 16 in Kandy.

Sri Lanka announces 17-member squad for upcoming ODI series against Zimbabwe
Sri Lanka announces squad for Zimbabwe ODIs (Image Source: Twitter)

Sri Lanka announced their 17-member squad for the upcoming home One-Day International (ODI) series against Zimbabwe on Thursday.

Both teams will battle out in as many as three ODI matches, starting January 16 this month. All matches will take place behind closed doors at the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium in Kandy.

The hosts have included three uncapped players – Nuwan Thushara, Chamika Gunasekara and Shiran Fernando – in the squad. Notably, Thushara grabbed limelight with his performance in the Lanka Premier League (LPL), representing Galle Gladiators. He ended the tournament as the second-highest wicket-taker (12) for his team.

Similarly, Gunasekara most recent performance against Pakistan A impressed everyone after he picked up 6 for 83. Overall, the right-armer has 19 wickets to his name in T20s, followed by 9 and 8 scalps in List A and First Class, respectively. Likewise, Fernando has 26 wickets from as many List A matches and 43 scalps in 18 First Class fixtures. In T20s, the 28-year-old has taken 28 wickets in 19 games.

Dhananjaya De Silva will miss the series because of paternity leave, while Avishka Fernando, Janith Liyanage and Kamil Mishara shall be unavailable after the trio tested positive for COVID-19. Further, Lahiru Kumara, Kalana Perera and star all-rounder Wanindu Hasaranga will also miss the ODI leg.

Sri Lanka squad:

Dasun Shanaka (c), Pathum Nissanka, Minod Bhanuka, Charith Asalanka, Maheesh Theekshana, Chamika Karunaratne, Jeffrey Vandersay, Nuwan Thushara, Ramesh Mendis, Praveen Jayawickrama, Dushmantha Chameera, Chamika Gunasekera, Dinesh Chandimal, Kusal Mendis, Nuwan Pradeep, Shiran Fernando, Kamindu Mendis.

Standby players: Ashen Bandara, Pulina Tharanga, Nimesh Vimukthi, Ashian Daniel, Asitha Fernando, Vishwa Fernando

TAGS: , , ,


For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Akshat is just another cricket fan who’s grown up watching the likes of Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid. Cricket runs in his veins. Cover drive is his favorite sight, and a ball meeting the middle of the bat is his favorite sound. You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.