Zimbabwe announces 15-member squad for upcoming ODI series against Sri Lanka

Posted On / /
  • Zimbabwe named a 15-man squad for the Sri Lanka ODIs.

  • The three-match ODI series is set to begin from January 16 in Kandy.

Zimbabwe announces 15-member squad for upcoming ODI series against Sri Lanka
Zimbabwe name squad for Sri Lanka ODIs (Image Source: Twitter)

Zimbabwe announced the 15-member squad for the forthcoming One-Day International (ODI) series against Sri Lanka on Friday.

Both sides are expected to play as many as three ODI fixtures, starting January 16 this month. All matches will take place behind closed doors at the iconic Pallekele International Cricket Stadium in Kandy.

Batting sensation Craig Ervine has been again given the responsibility to lead the Zimbabwe side. Notably, Ervine has captained the national team on their last tour of Scotland and Ireland in August-September 2021.

All-rounder Tino Mutombodzi has made a comeback to the outfit after a gap of nearly two years. The 31-year-old last appeared for Zimbabwe in the tour of Bangladesh in March 2020. The travelling party also features two uncapped players in the form of opening batter Takudzwanashe Kaitano and wicketkeeper Clive Madande.

Kaitano has 1247 runs to his name in 25 First-Class matches at an average of 29.00 with one hundred and seven half-centuries. While in List-A, the 28-year-old has played 22 games, scoring 702 runs with one ton and four fifties. Similarly, Madande has 241 runs to his credit in 4 First-Class matches while 345 runs from 16 fixtures in List-A.

Senior players Sikandar Raza, Sean Williams and Blessing Muzarabani have also been named in the squad.

“Ervine has been entrusted with the responsibility to lead Zimbabwe once again after he captained the team for the limited-overs tour to Ireland and Scotland in August-September last year. In Sri Lanka, he will lead a 15-man squad that includes the uncapped duo of opening batter Takudzwanashe Kaitano and wicketkeeper Clive Madande, while all-rounder Tino Mutombodzi has returned to the national side. Zimbabwe will leave for the tour this Saturday,” said Zimbabwe Cricket in a statement.

Here is Zimbabwe’s Squad for Sri Lanka ODIs:

Ervine Craig (captain), Burl Ryan, Chakabva Regis, Chatara Tendai, Jongwe Luke, Kaitano Takudzwanashe, Madande Clive, Madhevere Wessely, Masakadza Wellington, Mutombodzi Tinotenda, Muzarabani Blessing, Ngarava Richard, Raza Sikandar, Shumba Milton, Williams Sean

TAGS: , , ,

CATEGORY: Zimbabwe

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Akshat is just another cricket fan who’s grown up watching the likes of Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid. Cricket runs in his veins. Cover drive is his favorite sight, and a ball meeting the middle of the bat is his favorite sound. You can write to him at akshat.gaur@crickettimes.com or aks333.in@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.