PCB announces Pakistan Women squad for the upcoming white-ball series against Sri Lanka

Posted On / /
  • PCB has named the Pakistan Women squad for the limited-overs series against Sri Lanka.

  • All matches will take place at the Southend Club in Karachi.

PCB announces Pakistan Women squad for the upcoming white-ball series against Sri Lanka
Pakistan Women (Image Source: Twitter)

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), on Wednesday, announced the Pakistan Women squads for the upcoming home T20I and ODI series against Sri Lanka, starting May 24.

Bismah Maroof will continue to lead the side. Bismah has recently participated in the FairBreak Invitational T20 event along with some of her teammates, such as Aliya Riaz, Diana Baig and Fatima Sana, who also have joined the squad.

Pakistan have picked two uncapped players – wicketkeeper-batter Gull Feroza and legspinner Tuba Hassan – for the forthcoming T20I leg. Feroza has been added to the ODI unit as well, which further features another uncapped player Sadaf Shamas. Left-arm spinner Sadia Iqbal, on the other hand, has been recalled to both formats after recovering from an injury.

The two sides will lock horns in the three-match T20I series, followed by as many ODIs between May 24 and June 5 in Karachi. All the six white-ball matches will be played at Karachi’s Southend Club. The three ODIs will form a part of the ICC Women’s Championship 2022-25. Notably, in the last cycle, Pakistan finished fifth, while the visitors were placed at the bottom of the table.

“I want to wish the two squads the very best for the series, we have provided opportunities to Gull Feroza, Sadaf Shamas and Tuba Hassan on the basis of their future potential and skills. The three youngsters took part in the emerging camp last December and made an impression with their talent. I am pleased to see their progress, and we all feel it is now the right time to give them exposure in international cricket,” said Chief Selector Asmavia Iqbal, as quoted by ESPNcricinfo.

Here are the squads:

  • T20I:

Bismah Maroof (captain), Aiman Anwer, Aliya Riaz, Anam Amin, Ayesha Naseem, Diana Baig, Fatima Sana, Gull Feroza (wk), Iram Javed, Kainat Imtiaz, Muneeba Ali (wk), Nida Dar, Omaima Sohail, Sadia Iqbal and Tuba Hassan.

  • ODI:

Bismah Maroof (captain), Aiman Anwer, Aliya Riaz, Anam Amin, Diana Baig, Fatima Sana, Ghulam Fatima, Gull Feroza, Muneeba Ali (wk), Nida Dar, Omaima Sohail, Sadaf Shamas, Sadia Iqbal, Sidra Ameen, and Sidra Nawaz (wk).

TAGS: , , ,

CATEGORY: Pakistan, Women Cricket

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Akshat is just another cricket fan who’s grown up watching the likes of Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid. Cricket runs in his veins. Cover drive is his favorite sight, and a ball meeting the middle of the bat is his favorite sound. You can write to him at akshat.gaur@crickettimes.com or aks333.in@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.