Sam Curran returns as ECB names England squad for Netherlands ODIs

Posted On / /
  • England have announced their ODI squad for the Netherlands tour.

  • The three-match series between the two teams starts on June 17.

Sam Curran returns as ECB names England squad for Netherlands ODIs
Sam Curran (Image Source: Twitter)

England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB), on Tuesday, named a 14-member squad for the upcoming three-match One Day International (ODI) series against the Netherlands, starting at Amstelveen on June 17.

All-rounder Sam Curran has returned to the white-ball set-up, having been on the sidelines for six months due to a stress fracture of the back. Further, Brydon Carse and Phil Salt, who had both debuted against Pakistan last summer, earned recalls into the ODI outfit.

There will be many star players, including explosive opener Jason Roy, who is set to make a comeback after opting to skip the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 to spend time with his family. Apart from Roy, Jos Buttler, Moeen Ali, David Willey, and Liam Livingstone have also returned from their IPL stints.

“I’m very excited to be coaching a strong squad for my first series in charge. We have tremendous depth with a blend of youth and experience. We want to continue to play in an expressive style and let our players showcase their skills and firepower,” England’s white-ball head coach, Matthew Mott, said in a statement.

“This is a historic occasion for the sport, and the first time England Men have played The Netherlands in an ODI series. We can’t wait to head over to Amsterdam and put on a show for the thousands of fans travelling to support the team. The ODI side has had limited opportunities, and last played in July. However, with about 18 months to the next ICC 50 over World Cup in India, our preparation will start ramping up with nine matches over the summer and a busy winter ahead against strong opponents,” he added.

Here is England squad for Netherlands ODIs:

Eoin Morgan (c), Moeen Ali, Jos Buttler, Brydon Carse, Sam Curran, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, David Payne, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Phil Salt, Reece Topley, David Willey, Luke Wood.

TAGS: , , , ,

CATEGORY: Sam Curran

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Akshat is just another cricket fan who’s grown up watching the likes of Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid. Cricket runs in his veins. Cover drive is his favorite sight, and a ball meeting the middle of the bat is his favorite sound. You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.