Wanindu Hasaranga returns as Sri Lanka name squad for T20I series against Australia

Posted On / /
  • Sri Lanka Cricket has announced the T20I squad for the upcoming series against Australia.

  • The three-match T20I leg is set to begin on June 7 in Colombo.

Wanindu Hasaranga returns as Sri Lanka name squad for T20I series against Australia
Wanindu Hasaranga (Image Source: Twitter)

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC), on Wednesday, announced the men’s squad for the upcoming home T20I series against Australia, starting June 7.

Star leg-spinner Wanindu Hasaranga and wicketkeeper-batter Bhanuka Rajapaksa have returned to Sri Lanka’s T20I squad. Notably, Hasaranga was initially picked for the tour of India earlier this year but missed the fixtures due to covid, while Rajapaksa had been left out due to fitness concerns.

However, both the players came back with strong performances in the recently-concluded Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022. Hasaranga had a pretty good season with Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), finishing with 26 scalps to his name. He missed out on the Purple Cap’s race by just one wicket to Yuzvendra Chahal.

Similarly, Rajapaksa had a stunning season with the bat for Punjab Kings (PBKS), accumulating 209 runs in nine games at a strike rate just a shade below 160.

Further, the selection committee has also picked 19-year-old pace sensation Matheesha Pathirana, who recently grabbed eyeballs with his IPL debut for Chennai Super Kings (CSK).

Pathirana, who was impressive at the U-19 World Cup, has a similarly slingy bowling action to Sri Lanka legend Lasith Malinga. The right-arm quick featured in two fixtures for the CSK and was lauded highly by none other than MS Dhoni, who had called him an “excellent death bowler”.

Here is Sri Lanka’s squad for Australia T20Is:

Dasun Shanaka (C), Pathum Nissanka, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Charith Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Nuwanidu Fernando, Lahiru Madushanka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Kasun Rajitha, Nuwan Thushara, Matheesha Pathirana, Ramesh Mendis, Maheesh Theekshana, Praveen Jayawickrama, Lakshan Sandakan.

TAGS: , , , ,

CATEGORY: Wanindu Hasaranga

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Akshat is just another cricket fan who’s grown up watching the likes of Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid. Cricket runs in his veins. Cover drive is his favorite sight, and a ball meeting the middle of the bat is his favorite sound. You can write to him at akshat.gaur@crickettimes.com or aks333.in@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.