Cricket Ireland name 14-member T20I squad for upcoming New Zealand series

Posted On / /
  • Ireland Cricket has announced their men's squad for the T20I series against New Zealand.

  • The three-match T20I leg starts on July 18 in Stormont.

Cricket Ireland name 14-member T20I squad for upcoming New Zealand series
Ireland announce squad for New Zealand T20Is (Image Source: Twitter)

Cricket Ireland (CI), on Monday, have announced a 14-member squad for the upcoming three-match home T20I series against New Zealand.

The Irish selection committee has stuck to the same squad that played in the recently concluded T20I assignment against the No.1-ranked Men’s T20I team, India. Ireland lost the two-match leg 0-2, but they had almost chased down the huge target of 226, falling just four runs short in the second and final T20I.

Both newcomers Conor Olphert and Stephen Doheny have successfully retained their spots. Notably, Olphert made his international debut against India, while uncapped Doheny could get an opportunity in the upcoming series against the Black Caps.

“Naturally, the Selectors are backing the players that performed well against India – the high standards we sought were delivered upon, and we hope the squad can put in similar performances against New Zealand,” said Andrew White, Ireland’s Chair of National Men’s Selectors in a statement.

“The second T20I against India was a superb spectacle for the fans, but I know the coaching staff and players were gutted not to get across the line. The players should take great confidence from the past week, and we hope that this can lead to greater consistency in performances. It would be fantastic to see the sporting public – young and not-so-young – come out in their numbers and support the team at Stormont,” he added.

The white ball series against New Zealand, which starts from, July 10 in Malahide, consist of three ODIs and as many T20Is. Ireland have already announced their squad for the ODI leg.

Ireland Squad for New Zealand T20Is:

Andrew Balbirnie (c), Mark Adair, Curtis Campher, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Stephen Doheny, Josh Little, Andrew McBrine, Barry McCarthy, Conor Olphert, Paul Stirling, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Craig Young.

TAGS: , , ,


For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Weekly Newsletter.

About the Author:
Akshat is just another cricket fan who’s grown up watching the likes of Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid. Cricket runs in his veins. Cover drive is his favorite sight, and a ball meeting the middle of the bat is his favorite sound. You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.