New Zealand announces ODI squad for Chappell-Hadlee series

Posted On / /
  • New Zealand have announced their ODI squad for the Australia tour.

  • The three-match ODI series is set to begin on September 06.

New Zealand announces ODI squad for Chappell-Hadlee series
New Zealand squad for Australia tour (Image Source: Twitter)

New Zealand Cricket (NZC) have announced their ODI squad for the upcoming Chappell-Hadlee series against Australia, starting September 06 at Cazaly’s Stadium in Cairns.

Fast bowler Matt Henry has returned to the ODI setup after missing their most recent assignment in the West Indies due to a rib injury. Ben Sears, who was called up for the West Indies ODIs in Henry’s absence, has also managed to retain his spot in the squad. However, the likes of Kyle Jamieson and Adam Milne weren’t considered due to their respective injuries.

Speaking about history, Australia have a 6-4 win-loss record in 12 Chappell-Hadlee battles so far and hold a considerable edge over Black Caps, especially while playing at home.

“The inclusion of Ben Sears is a nod to the future, and we also think his pace and bounce could be a good option in Australian conditions,” said head coach Gary Stead in a statement.

“It’s great to welcome back Matt as well. He’s been one of our front-line one-day bowlers for the past few years, and his ICC ODI bowling ranking of six is testament to that,” he added.

“It’s a great rivalry we have with Australia; it’s always a huge occasion for the fans, and the team really look forward to it. You grow up watching the Chappell-Hadlee Trophy series and remembering the great battles, so to be part of another chapter is pretty special. We know how tough Australia are to beat in their own conditions, and we’re looking forward to the challenge,” said New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson, who is also making a comeback after missing the last two matches against West Indies.

Notably, the three-match ODI series was originally scheduled to be held earlier this year in January but was postponed due to quarantine restrictions. Before that, the two neighbouring nations were supposed to lock horns in March 2020, but the series was postponed due to Covid.

New Zealand ODI squad:

Kane Williamson (captain), Finn Allen, Trent Boult, Michael Bracewell, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham (wk), Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Ben Sears, Tim Southee

TAGS: , , , ,

CATEGORY: New Zealand

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Akshat is just another cricket fan who’s grown up watching the likes of Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid. Cricket runs in his veins. Cover drive is his favorite sight, and a ball meeting the middle of the bat is his favorite sound. You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.