Big stars return as Australia announces squad for home T20Is against West Indies

Posted On / /
  • Australia have named their squad for the T20I series against West Indies.

  • The two-match leg is set to begin on October 5 in Queensland.

Big stars return as Australia announces squad for home T20Is against West Indies
Australia name squad for West Indies T20Is (Image Source: Twitter)

Cricket Australia (CA), on Wednesday, announced their 16-member squad for the upcoming home T20I series against West Indies, starting October 5 in Queensland.

The likes of David Warner, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Starc and Mitchell Marsh, who all missed the recently-concluded T20I leg against India, have been included in the outfit for two-match series against the Caribbean’s. Notably, Warner was rested for the India tour, while Starc, Stoinis and Marsh had been ruled out due to knee, side strain and ankle problems, respectively.

Young all-rounder Cameron Green, who impressed one and all with a couple of quick-fire half-centuries in India, has also been included in the squad. However, the left-arm spinner Ashton Agar, and speedster, Kane Richardson have been rested.

National Selection Panel Chair George Bailey mentioned that the battle against the West Indies would be crucial match practice ahead of the upcoming T20 World Cup, scheduled to begin from October 15 down under.

“We have and are taking a cautious approach with the World Cup on the near horizon. To have four key players return gives us the ability to take a conservative path with any minor issues and resolve those well in time for the World Cup. As such, we anticipate Kane and Ashton will return for the following series against England,” said Bailey in a statement.

After battling in the two-match series, the hosts are scheduled to lock horns with England in three T20Is in Perth and Canberra before they start their campaign in the T20 World Cup. Ahead of their opening game at the multi-team event, Australia will also play a practice match against India at the Gabba on October 17.

Australia squad for West Indies T20Is:

Aaron Finch (captain), Sean Abbott, Pat Cummins, Tim David, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Daniel Sams, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa

TAGS: , , , ,

CATEGORY: Australia

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Akshat is just another cricket fan who’s grown up watching the likes of Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid. Cricket runs in his veins. Cover drive is his favorite sight, and a ball meeting the middle of the bat is his favorite sound. You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.