Ireland announces 15-member squad for T20 World Cup

Posted On / /
  • Ireland have named their squad for T20 World Cup 2022.

  • The Irish side will start their campaign against Zimbabwe on October 17.

Ireland announces 15-member squad for T20 World Cup
Ireland name T20 World Cup squad (Image Source: Twitter)

Cricket Ireland (CI), on Tuesday, announced their men’s squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2022, scheduled to begin in Australia from October 16.

Explosive opener Paul Stirling, star all-rounder George Dockrell, Mr dependable Harry Tector and consistent pacer Mark Adair are some first-choice names in the 15-member squad, which will be captained by experienced campaigner Andrew Balbirnie.

However, there will be no veteran batter Kevin O’Brien, who recently announced his retirement from all forms of international cricket. Notably, O’Brien was omitted from the squad that competed in the Qualifier.

The Irish side are placed in Group B and will start their campaign against Zimbabwe at Bellerive Oval in Hobart on October 17. Ireland will then take on fellow European side Scotland and West Indies on October 19 and 21 at the same venue.

Ireland’s squad for T20 World Cup:

Andrew Balbirnie (c), Mark Adair, Curtis Campher, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Stephen Doheny, Fionn Hand, Josh Little, Barry McCarthy, Conor Olphert, Simi Singh, Paul Stirling, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Craig Young.

CATEGORY: Ireland, T20 World Cup

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Akshat is just another cricket fan who’s grown up watching the likes of Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid. Cricket runs in his veins. Cover drive is his favorite sight, and a ball meeting the middle of the bat is his favorite sound. You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.