Shaheen Afridi returns as Pakistan unveil 15-member squad for T20 World Cup 2022

Posted On / /
  • Pakistan have announced their squad for T20 World Cup 2022.

  • Shaheen Afridi has been named in the 15-member outfit.

Shaheen Afridi returns as Pakistan unveil 15-member squad for T20 World Cup 2022
Pakistan name T20 World Cup squad (Image Source: Twitter)

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), on Thursday, announced their 15-member squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2022, scheduled to begin in Australia from October 16.

Frontline pace bowler Shaheen Shah Afridi, who is currently sidelined with a knee injury, has been named in the main squad as Pakistan look to get him fit in time for the 20-over showpiece event. Notably, Afridi was ruled out of the Asia Cup after being advised a 4-6 weeks rest by the medical team following an injury to the right knee ligament.

Meanwhile, Fakhar Zaman has missed out on Pakistan’s squad due to a knee injury. However, he has been named in the reserves along with Mohammad Haris and Shahnawaz Dahani. The squad featured Shan Masood, who is still uncapped in T20Is, and Haider Ali was recalled to the side after last featuring in the format in December 2021.

“We have a team that can perform strongly in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022. That’s why we have shown faith and confidence in almost the same set of players who have been part of the T20I squad post the 2021 World Cup in the UAE,” said chief selector Muhammad Wasim in a statement.

“These players have performed well since November 2021, and that’s why we have won nine out of our last 13 T20Is. We have invested in these cricketers, and it is fair to them that they get the opportunity to show their mettle in the World Cup, an event for which they have been preparing and training hard. We needed to ensure continuity and support to these players, and that’s precisely what we have done. We are receiving encouraging reports about Shaheen Shah Afridi, who is likely to resume bowling early next month,” he added.

Pakistan’s T20 World Cup squad:

Babar Azam (c), Shadab Khan (vc), Asif Ali, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shan Masood, Usman Qadir

Reserves: Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Haris, Shahnawaz Dahani

TAGS: , , ,

CATEGORY: Pakistan, T20 World Cup

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Akshat is just another cricket fan who’s grown up watching the likes of Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid. Cricket runs in his veins. Cover drive is his favorite sight, and a ball meeting the middle of the bat is his favorite sound. You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.