ICC announces full list of umpires and match referees for T20 World Cup 2022

Posted On / /
  • ICC has announced the full list of match officials for T20 World Cup 2022.

  • The multi-team event is all set to begin on October 16.

ICC announces full list of umpires and match referees for T20 World Cup 2022
ICC names full list of match officials for T20 World Cup 2022 (Image Source: Twitter)

The International Cricket Council (ICC), on Tuesday, announced the 20 match officials for the First Round and Super 12s stages of the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022, scheduled to be played in Australia from October 16 to November 13. The selections for the semi-finals and final of the multi-team tournament will be named in due course.

Overall, 16 umpires will officiate across the tournament, with the likes of Nitin Menon, Richard Kettleborough, Marais Erasmus, and Kumar Dharmasena, having featured in the previous edition’s final, that saw Australia, this year’s hosts, clinching their first ICC Men’s T20 World Cup title. Apart from the four mentioned above, all the other umpires were also part of the last year’s tournament, held in the United Arab Emirates and Oman.

Four former cricketers – Ranjan Madugalle of Sri Lanka, Andrew Pycroft of Zimbabwe, Christopher Broad of England and Australian David Boon – will be the match referees for the eighth edition of the T20 World Cup.

Joel Wilson and Rodney Tucker will be the on-field umpires in the tournament opener, with Paul Reiffel and Erasmus acting as the TV umpire and the fourth umpire, respectively.

“We are delighted to announce the match officials who will be officiating at the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. This group are the very best from around the world, and whilst it is a very challenging job with the eyes of the cricketing community focused on every decision, we know they will do an outstanding job and wish them the very best of luck,” said Adrian Griffith, ICC Senior Manager – Umpires and Referees in a statement.

Complete list of Match Officials at the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022:

Match Referees: Andrew Pycroft, Christopher Broad, David Boon, Ranjan Madugalle

Umpires: Adrian Holdstock, Aleem Dar, Ahsan Raza, Christopher Brown, Christopher Gaffaney, Joel Wilson, Kumara Dharmasena, Langton Rusere, Marais Erasmus, Michael Gough, Nitin Menon, Paul Reiffel, Paul Wilson, Richard Illingworth, Richard Kettleborough, Rodney Tucker


CATEGORY: T20 World Cup

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Akshat is just another cricket fan who’s grown up watching the likes of Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid. Cricket runs in his veins. Cover drive is his favorite sight, and a ball meeting the middle of the bat is his favorite sound. You can write to him at akshat.gaur@crickettimes.com or aks333.in@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.