New Zealand Cricket announces T20I and ODI squads for India series

Posted On / /
  • New Zealand have announced their T20I and ODI squads for India series.

  • India tour of New Zealand 2022 will begin on November 18.

New Zealand Cricket announces T20I and ODI squads for India series
Kane Williamson (Photo Source: Twitter)

New Zealand will host India for a six-match white-ball series, starting this month. The tour for the Men in Blue begins with a three-game T20I leg across Wellington (Nov 18), Tauranga (Nov 20) and Napier (Nov 22), before they move for the three ODIs across Auckland (Nov 25), Hamilton (Nov 27) and Christchurch (Nov 30).

On Tuesday, New Zealand Cricket (NZC) announced their squads for the upcoming matches. Kane Williamson will captain both sides with the T20I squad assembling in Wellington on Wednesday, November 16.

Trent Boult is the notable omission from the squads – with Tim Southee, Matt Henry (ODIs only), Lockie Ferguson, Blair Tickner and Adam Milne filling the fast bowling ranks.

Rising star Finn Allen is set to face India for the first time after being named in both Blackcaps’ squads for the incoming tour. The 23-year-old has played 23 T20Is and eight ODIs for New Zealand, amassing 872 runs with the help of five half-centuries and a hundred.

With Allen’s retention, there’s no place for experienced campaigner Martin Guptill in the team.

“When Trent opted out of his NZC contract in August, we indicated that priority would be given to those players with either central or domestic contracts, and that’s been the case here,” said the Blackcaps coach Gary Stead in his official statement.

“We’re all aware of Trent’s world class ability, but at this time – as we build towards more global events, we want to give opportunities and experiences to others.

“The emergence and success of Finn at the top of the order in white-ball cricket means a guy of the class of Martin Guptill misses out – that’s just the nature of high performance sport.

“With the 50-over World Cup less than a year away we’re keen to give Finn every opportunity to keep gaining ODI experience, especially against quality opposition such as India,” added Stead.

BLACKCAPS squads vs India:

Kane Williamson (c), Finn Allen, Michael Bracewell, Devon Conway (wk), Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry (ODI), Tom Latham (ODI) (wk), Daryl Mitchell, Adam Milne, Jimmy Neesham*, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi (T20), Tim Southee, Blair Tickner (T20).

*Henry Nicholls to replaces Jimmy Neesham for the third ODI

TAGS: , , , , ,

CATEGORY: New Zealand

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.