ICC picks Suryakumar Yadav among four nominees for 2022 Men’s T20I Cricketer of the year award

Posted On / /
  • Suryakumar Yadav has been named among the four nominees for T20I Cricketer of the Year 2022.

  • Suryakumar is the leading run-getter in the T20Is this year.

ICC picks Suryakumar Yadav among four nominees for 2022 Men’s T20I Cricketer of the year award
Suryakumar Yadav named in ICC T20I Cricketer of the year award nominees (Image Source: @ICC)

The International Cricket Council (ICC), on Thursday, announced the nominees for the Men’s T20I Cricketer of the year for 2022. Suryakumar Yadav is the only Indian player to get the nomination, alongside Zimbabwe’s Sikandar Raza, England’s Sam Curran and Pakistan’s Mohammad Rizwan.

Notably, Suryakumar had a phenomenal 2022 with the bat. He was miles ahead of fellow cricketers, amassing 1164 runs from 31 matches at an impressive average of 46.56 and a striker rate of 187.43, with the help of two hundreds and nine half-centuries. Surya’s tally of 68 sixes and 104 fours are the highest anyone has recorded in the shortest format this year.

Surya was also the third-highest run-getter in the T20 World Cup 2022. Speaking about the global showpiece event, T20 World Cup winner and player of the tournament Curran is also amongst the frontrunners to pick up the award.

Curran was brilliant throughout the multi-team event and dominated the bowlers’ statistics. The star all-rounder was the second-highest wicket-taker with 13 scalps to his name in 6 matches at an economy of 6.52, with 5/10 being his best performance.

Zimbabwean superstar Raza has also been nominated in the list, following his impressive run with both bat and ball throughout this year. Raza scored 735 runs in the year at a strike rate of over 150 and also led the wickets chart, taking 25 scalps at an outstanding economy rate of 6.13. His most memorable performance came against Pakistan in the T20 World Cup 2022, where he picked up 3 for 25 before inflicting the run out off the final ball to give his side a thrilling one-run victory.

Just below Suryakumar was Pakistan’s wicketkeeper-batter Rizwan in the leading run-getters category. Rizwan scored 996 runs from 25 matches at an average of 45.27, including 10 half-centuries, with an unbeaten 88 being his best score.

TAGS: , , , , ,

CATEGORY: ICC, Suryakumar Yadav

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Weekly Newsletter.

About the Author:
Akshat is just another cricket fan who’s grown up watching the likes of Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid. Cricket runs in his veins. Cover drive is his favorite sight, and a ball meeting the middle of the bat is his favorite sound. You can write to him at akshat.gaur@crickettimes.com or aks333.in@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.