Mushfiqur Rahim, Taskin Ahmed return as Bangladesh name 17-member squad for the first Test against India

Posted On / /
  • Bangladesh have announced their squad for the opening Test against India.

  • The two-match Test series will start on December 14 in Dhaka.

Mushfiqur Rahim, Taskin Ahmed return as Bangladesh name 17-member squad for the first Test against India
Bangladesh squad for first Test against India (Image Source: Twitter)

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB), on Thursday, announced their men’s squad for the upcoming first Test against India, starting December 14 in Chattogram.

Tamim Iqbal, who was ruled out of the ongoing ODI series after picking up a groin injury, continues to miss the two-match Test series opener. To fill up Tamim’s shoes, Bangladesh have handed a maiden call-up to top order batter Zakir Hasan.

Zakir has been picked in the 17-member squad after ruling the run-charts in the domestic four-day competition. He was named Player of the Match in the first unofficial Test against India, following a defiant 173 in the second innings to earn the hosts a draw.

“Our physio said he won’t be able to play in the first Test. But we are awaiting the medical report for the second Test. So, we’ve announced the squad for the opening Test,” said BCB chief selector Minhajul Abedin as quoted by Cricbuzz.

“As for Zakir, we feel he is performing regularly in domestic cricket to earn a spot in the Test squad,” Minhajul added.

Senior batter Mushfiqur Rahim has made his comeback to the Test squad after missing his side’s previous assignment in the red-ball format against West Indies. Similarly, Taskin Ahmed, who didn’t feature in the ongoing ODI series because of an injury, is fit for the Tests.

The second and final Test will begin on December 22 in Dhaka. Notably, the hosts have already taken an unassailable 2-0 lead in the ODI series after winning the first two nail-biters.

Bangladesh squad for the first Test against India:

Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Najmul Hassan Shanto, Mominul Haque, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan (C), Litton Das, Nurul Hasan, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Syed Khaled Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain, Shoriful Islam, Zakir Hasan, Rejaur Rahman Raja, Anamul Haque Bijoy

TAGS: , , , ,

CATEGORY: Mushfiqur Rahim

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Weekly Newsletter.

About the Author:
Akshat is just another cricket fan who’s grown up watching the likes of Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid. Cricket runs in his veins. Cover drive is his favorite sight, and a ball meeting the middle of the bat is his favorite sound. You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.