New Zealand announce a new-look Test squad for Pakistan tour

Posted On / /
  • New Zealand have announced their Test squad for Pakistan tour.

  • Ish Sodhi recalled after four-long years.

New Zealand announce a new-look Test squad for Pakistan tour
New Zealand Test team (Photo Source: Twitter)

New Zealand Cricket (NZC) on Thursday named their men’s squad for the upcoming two-Test tour of Pakistan. Both the matches will be part of the ongoing ICC World Test Championship (WTC)

Earlier in the day, the Black Caps revealed that Tim Southee will take over from Kane Williamson as New Zealand Test captain and Tom Latham will assist him in the red-ball format. However, Williamson will continue to lead New Zealand in ODIs and T20Is.

Southee’s first assignment as skipper will come in Pakistan over the New Year. The Kiwis will play 2 Tests and 3 ODIs in Pakistan from December 26 to January 13.

Southee will lead a new-look squad that will be without fellow quicks Trent Boult (unavailable) and Kyle Jamieson (back injury), with leg-spinner Ish Sodhi (recalled after 4 years), middle-order batter Glenn Phillips and uncapped pacer Blair Tickner among the players included.

New Zealand head coach Gary Stead is looking forward to the Pakistan tour and believes his team can perform well.

“It’s going to be a new experience and the kind of challenge that excites this group,” Stead said in his official statement.

“We’ve naturally been keeping an eye on the current Test series against England, particularly the last two Tests of the series held in Multan and Karachi, where we will play.

“This series will be the first for Tim Southee as Test captain and together we’re both looking forward to getting into our work for the tour.”

The first Test kicks-off in Karachi on December 26, with the second game taking place in Multan from January 3.

New Zealand Test squad:

Tim Southee (captain), Michael Bracewell, Tom Blundell, Devon Conway, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Glenn Phillips, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner, Neil Wagner, Kane Williamson, Will Young.

TAGS: , ,

CATEGORY: New Zealand

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Weekly Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.