WATCH: Brisbane Heat’s Michael Neser takes a hat-trick against Melbourne Renegades – BBL|12

Posted On / /
  • Michael Neser picked up a hat-trick against Melbourne Renegades in BBL|12.

  • Neser is the second Brisbane Heat bowler to take a hat-trick in the competition.

WATCH: Brisbane Heat’s Michael Neser takes a hat-trick against Melbourne Renegades – BBL|12
Michael Neser takes a hat-trick in BBL 12 (Screengrab: @BBL)

In the 10th match of the ongoing Big Bash League (BBL) 2022-23 between Brisbane Heat and Melbourne Renegades, pacer Michael Neser etched his name in history books as he picked up his maiden hat-trick in the tournament. The right-arm speedster lit up the Simonds Stadium in Geelong when he became only the eighth bowler to take a hat-trick in the BBL.

Neser started with a bang after he dismissed opener, Sam Harper, on the very first ball of the Renegades’ chase. He then got rid of Jake Fraser on the final ball of his opening over. Neser seemed to be unstoppable as he came to bowl his next over and removed Nic Maddinson on the first ball and was on a hat-trick as he took a wicket on the last ball of his previous over. The pacer then cleaned up Jonathan Wells to complete his first-ever hat-trick in the BBL.

Here is how the hat-trick took place:

  • 0.6: Neser to Fraser, out Caught. An outswinger pitched on that good length, and the batter’s feet went nowhere on the drive as captain and wicketkeeper Jimmy Peirson caught the outside edge.
  • 2.1: Neser to Maddinson, out Bowled. An away-angler that pitched around off stump and straightened. Maddinson tried to run this down to the third man, but it caught the bottom part of the blade and shattered the timber.
  • 2.2: Neser to Wells, out Bowled. Brain faded from Wells as he shouldered arms to a delivery that came in and disturbed the stumps.

Here is the video:

List of hat-tricks in BBL:

  • Xavier Doherty, Hobart Hurricanes vs Sydney Thunder, 2012-13
  • Andrew Tye Perth Scorchers vs Brisbane Heat, 2016-17
  • Andrew Tye Perth Scorchers vs Sydney Sixers, 2017-18
  • Josh Lalor Brisbane Heat vs Perth Scorchers, 2018-19
  • Rashid Khan Adelaide Strikers vs Sydney Sixers, 2019-20
  • Haris Rauf Melbourne Stars vs Sydney Thunder, 2019-20
  • Gurinder Sandhu Sydney vs Thunder Perth Scorchers, 2021-22
  • Cameron Boyce Melbourne Renagades vs Sydney Thunder, 2021-22
  • Michael Neser Brisbane Heat vs Melbourne Renegades, 2022-23

TAGS: , , ,

CATEGORY: Michael Neser, Video

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Weekly Newsletter.

About the Author:
Akshat is just another cricket fan who’s grown up watching the likes of Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid. Cricket runs in his veins. Cover drive is his favorite sight, and a ball meeting the middle of the bat is his favorite sound. You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.