Indian vice-captain Hardik Pandya was back in the side after being named in the final XI of the ongoing first One-Day International (ODI) against New Zealand at Rajeev Gandhi International Stadium on Wednesday.
Hardik, who missed the recent ODIs against Sri Lanka, came to bat at number six after India had lost the wicket of Suryakumar Yadav in the 29th over, and the score read at 175/4. The Baroda cricketer formed a crucial partnership of 74 runs for the fifth wicket with opener Shubman Gill, and the duo looked in complete control to cruise further.
However, in the 40th over of India’s innings, Daryl Mitchell got rid of Hardik with an absolute freakish dismissal that triggered a massive controversy on social media. It all happened on the fourth ball when Mitchell bowled an in-angler, which cramped Hardik for room as he went for a cut shot. Due to the extra bounce, the batter missed the ball completely before the bail came off, and New Zealand appealed for a dismissal.
The tourists weren’t entirely sure, and so did Tom Latham, behind the stumps. The bail clearly fell forward, which meant the keeper’s glove should have flicked it. But, the TV umpire seemed to have missed it and ruled it in favour of Latham, which expectedly so annoyed Hardik as he walked off unhappy.
Here is the video:
Clear Not out 😬
— palakurapappu (@mabbuman1) January 18, 2023
— Rahul Sisodia (@Sisodia19Rahul) January 18, 2023
Here is how netizens reacted:
Forget about split screens and replays, the cut shot from Shubhman Gill proved why Hardik was clearly Not Out. #indvsnz
— Ashwin 🇮🇳 (@ashwinravi99) January 18, 2023
— Munaf Patel (@munafpa99881129) January 18, 2023
Hardik Pandya is really unlucky, was a bad call from the third umpire
— Johns. (@CricCrazyJohns) January 18, 2023
I’m sorry but how is that out? Feel for Pandya! To much doubt to give that out! #INDvNZ
— Amanda Wellington (@amandajadew) January 18, 2023
Not sure how Hardik Pandya was given out there. At best, thought 3rd umpire was deciding whether it was a no-ball or not.
What did we miss in that replay?!? #IndvNZ
— Chetan Narula (@chetannarula) January 18, 2023
Hardik Pandya was not out here. Ball didn't even touch the stumps. Poor umpiring…. pic.twitter.com/8yxjVjiXcl
— ANSHUMAN🚩 (@AvengerReturns) January 18, 2023
Hardik Pandya was not out 😡pic.twitter.com/lMH5sNxFzF
— Pratham. (@75thHundredWhen) January 18, 2023
Unlucky Hardik Pandya. pic.twitter.com/ALqYj9R0Bg
— Mufaddal Vohra (@mufaddal_vohra) January 18, 2023
Is this the worst TV umpiring decision of all time?
Hardik Pandya was given out BOWLED despite the ball clearly going into Tom Latham's gloves before the bail was flicked off!
— 🏏Flashscore Cricket Commentators (@FlashCric) January 18, 2023
A very, very odd umpiring decision in the Ind-NZ ODI. Looks like the ball has passed a distance above the stumps, with Tom Latham's gloves flicking the bails, but the TV umpire has given Hardik Pandya out bowled
— Ben Gardner (@Ben_Wisden) January 18, 2023
Absolute waste of technology. That's a clear NOT OUT. pic.twitter.com/J7WH7Buukt
— Shivani Shukla (@iShivani_Shukla) January 18, 2023
— 🕉 Mrs. Proud Indian 🚩🚩 (@MrsProudIndians) January 18, 2023
That was not out,Clearly. Hardik was robbed there?Big blunder. It was clear to naked eyes. Watch the ball's, trajector,balls passed over the stumps,into keepers hands & it was gloves on the line touching bells,it should have a been a no ball as per rules.#INDvsNZ #CricketTwitter pic.twitter.com/838jrsIwwP
— Archisman Mishra (@iamarchis16) January 18, 2023
How was Hardik Pandya given out there? Unbelievable. #INDvNZ
— Farid Khan (@_FaridKhan) January 18, 2023
Third umpire (3rd umpire) before giving out to hardik Pandya 😂😂😂
(Vape Umpire) pic.twitter.com/xJCL7LbpE7
— AJAY (@ajay71845) January 18, 2023