Pakistan announces 16-man squad for the ODI series against New Zealand

Posted On / /
  • Three uncapped players have been named in the Pakistan squad for New Zealand ODIs.

  • Haris Sohail and Shan Masood recalled to the ODI set-up.

Pakistan announces 16-man squad for the ODI series against New Zealand
Pakistan team players (Image Source: Twitter)

Pakistan will play a three-match ODI series against New Zealand after the Test leg. All three ODI will take place in Karachi –  the venue which hosted the two-Test series.

On Thursday, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) announced a 16-man squad for the ODI series against Black Caps. Haris Sohail and Shan Masood have been recalled to the team. Both last played ODI cricket in 2019 and 2020, respectively. At the same time, fast bowler Haris Rauf who sustained an injury on his Test debut against England, has also been included in the squad.

Uncapped batter Tayyab Tahir and wrist spinner Usama Mir have been rewarded for their exceptional performance in the domestic Pakistan Cup, while star pacer Shaheen Shah Afridi (sustained an injury during the first Test against England) was once again left out by the selection committee after consulting the medical team.

On the other hand, all-rounder Shadab Kahan, who sustained a finger injury during the ongoing BBL, wasn’t considered for selection.

“We have decided to recall experienced Haris Sohail and Shan Masood as we believe the two lads still have plenty to offer to Pakistan cricket,” said Pakistan’s interim chief selector Shahid Afridi, in a press conference.

“We have not only rewarded Tayyab Tahir and Usama Mir for their outstanding performances in our domestic events, but they have also been identified as future prospects.These four players, along with Kamran Ghulam, have good knowledge of our conditions and have the talent and potential to excel at the highest level,” he added.

Pakistan squad for New Zealand ODIs:

Babar Azam (c), Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Haris Sohail, Imam-ul-Haq, Kamran Ghulam, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Salman Agha, Shahnawaz Dahani, Shan Masood, Tayyab Tahir, Usama Mir.

TAGS: , , ,

CATEGORY: Pakistan

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Weekly Newsletter.

About the Author:
Vishwanath Hariharan is a young journalist who's very fond of watching cricket. Like many others, he too grew up watching, playing, and imitating his favourite players of the game. MS Dhoni is like a demigod to him. You can connect with him at or and follow him on Twitter & Linkedin.