Table of Contents
The Edgbaston Test between India and England was not short on drama, but one moment stood out and sparked a fierce debate in cricketing circles. When Akash Deep sent Joe Root’s stumps cartwheeling with a sharp delivery, the Indian pacer celebrated a prized wicket. Yet, as replays rolled in, a section of fans and pundits erupted in protest, claiming Akash’s back foot had strayed outside the return crease—rendering the ball a no-ball and the wicket invalid. The controversy snowballed, with commentators and former players weighing in, until the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) the ultimate authority on cricket’s laws, stepped in to clarify matters once and for all.
MCC issues final verdict over the controversy
At the heart of the debate was Law 21.5.1, which governs the legality of a bowler’s delivery stride. According to the MCC, for a delivery to be fair, the bowler’s back foot must “land within and not touching the return crease.” The confusion arose because, while Akash’s foot appeared to hover or even touch outside the return crease after landing, the crucial detail is where the foot first makes contact with the ground.
The MCC’s statement was unequivocal: “MCC has always defined the moment that the back foot lands as the first point of contact with the ground. As soon as there is any part of the foot touching the ground, that foot has landed, and it is the foot’s position at that time which is to be considered for a back foot no ball.” In Akash’s case, his foot first landed inside the crease, and only then did it slide or touch outside. This, the MCC clarified, is entirely legal under the current laws.
The third umpire, Paul Reiffel, did not intervene, and the on-field umpires Chris Gaffaney and Sharfuddoula Saikat allowed the wicket to stand. Former India coach Ravi Shastri, commentating at the time, was quick to assert the delivery’s legality, even as some English commentators and ex-players like Jonathan Trott voiced their doubts.
Also WATCH: Shubman Gill delivers cheeky response to journalist’s past Edgbaston jibe at Team India
Cricket’s lawmakers end speculations over legalities of the dismissal
The MCC’s intervention has not only settled the immediate dispute but also provided a valuable lesson in the interpretation of cricket’s laws. By emphasizing the importance of the “first point of contact,” the MCC has made it clear that subsequent movement of the foot beyond the crease line is irrelevant to the legality of the delivery. This clarification is likely to influence how similar incidents are judged in future matches and should help umpires, players, and fans alike to better understand the nuances of the rulebook.
For India, Root’s wicket was a turning point, reducing England to 50 for 3 in pursuit of a daunting 608-run target. The hosts eventually folded for 271, handing India a thumping 336-run victory and leveling the series. But beyond the numbers, the episode has reaffirmed the MCC’s role as the guardian of cricket’s spirit and laws, ensuring that the game’s integrity remains intact, even amid the heat of battle and the glare of modern scrutiny.
Also READ: ENG vs IND: Shubman Gill reflects on India’s historic win in the Edgbaston Test